XLR8R - logo


Grab a New Mix From Van Rivers

You may know him best as the occasional producer of indie greats like Blonde Redhead and Glasser (alongside partner The Subliminal Kid), but Van Rivers (a.k.a. Henrik von Sivers, picture above right) is also a techno and house producer and DJ to be reckoned with. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 06/27/2011

Watch Our Exclusive Interview With Moby Discussing the Influence of Mute Records

XLR8R recently took a trip abroad to take in the festivities that comprised Mute Records' Short Circuit Festival. Read more » 

Download: Steve Mason "Lost and Found (Hyetal Remix)"

Label: Domino

In preparation for the forthcoming release (July 25 digital and August 2 physical) of Ghosts Outside—a collaborative effort between former Beta Band member turned solo artist Steve Mason and Dennis Bovell which reinterprets Mason's Boys Outside LP from last year—album cut "Lost and Found" has been handed to Bristol producer (and recent XLR8R featuree) Hyetal (pictured above) for a reworking. Giving the original tune a welcome jolt of energy, Hyetal uses Mason's introspective lyrics as a guide for his onslaught of harrowing synth work to follow. In step with what we've come to expect from the burgeoning producer, there is a dark, mysterious undercurrent to this remix which adds a thick element of suspense, especially when paired with the fact that a beat never fully kicks in, the track instead building pattern upon pattern before methodically breaking back down to its simplest elements. (via FACT

Average: 7.2 (45 votes)

Review: Mount Kimbie Carbonated EP

Label: Hotflush

Maybe its only because of the relatively truncated period in which the post-dubstep poster boys of Mount Kimbie released their debut and sophomore EPs, Maybes and Sketch on Glass, followed by last year’s defining Crooks and Lovers LP, but it oddly feels like new material from the duo is a little overdue. Read more » 

  • Filed under: review
  • 06/27/2011

Download: Brenmar "Let Me Know (Tasting) (5kinAndBone5 & Vin Sol Garage & Patio Remix)"

Anyone who checks out XLR8R with any sort of regularity has probably noticed at least a few of the approximately 234 posts we've done about Brenmar over the past couple of years. Admittedly, we love the Brooklyn-based, R&B-obsessed producer and his seemingly endless well of hooky tunes, but today's Brenmar-related shine should actually go to San Francisco producers Vin Sol and 5kinAndBone5 (pictured above). The duo has reworked the title track of Brenmar's freshly released EP on Grizzly. Smartly keeping the original's exceptionally catchy vocal intact, Vin Sol and 5kinAndBone5 have effectively paired it with an upfront garage rhythm, thick basslines, steppy snares, and a R&B feel that's surprisingly UK in flavor. 

Average: 8.2 (72 votes)

Tokimonsta Drops Fresh Mix For Oki-Ni

Online boutique store/art-and-culture hub Oki-Ni is continuing its exclusive mix series with a new collection of tracks from Brainfeeder beatsmith Tokimonsta. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 06/24/2011

Greie Gut Fraktion to Release Remix Album

Last year, the multi-talented poet/producer Antye Greie (a.k.a. AGF) and Berlin experimental-music pioneer Gudrun Gut got together to work under the banner of Greie Gut Fraktion. The fruits of that collaboration were realized with the release of the eclectic and avant-garde Baustelle, their first LP. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 06/24/2011

Video: SBTRKT "Wildfire"

A week away from the release of his debut full-length, UK DJ/producer SBTRKT shares this strange music video for the record's first single, "Wildfire." Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 06/24/2011

Gear: Westone 4 True-Fit Earphones

The Westone 4 ($449) is not only the world's first three-way, four-driver, universal-fit in-ear monitor, but also a refinement of the company's many accomplished balanced armature earphones, resulting in an uncolored soundstage that could be both the first and last word at its price point. Read more » 

  • Filed under: gear
  • 06/24/2011

Spoek Mathambo Signs to Sub Pop, Offers Free Download

Word has come that South African rapper/producer/DJ/all-around musical globetrotter Spoek Mathambo has penned a deal with the Sub Pop label and is readying a new digital-only EP, Put Some Red On It, slated to be the first release to result from the new partnership. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 06/24/2011

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player