XLR8R - logo


Review: Cooly G "Landscapes" b/w "It's Serious"

Label: Hyperdub

UK producer Cooly G (a.k.a. Merissa Campbell) is an interesting figure. At this point, she's almost inextricably tied to UK funky, even though her sound has always been weirder and more sultry than that of her big-tune-chasing counterparts. When her Dub Organizer EPs began to surface in 2008 and 2009, the low-slung house rhythms and sultry vibes easily made Cooly G one of the most exciting new artists in the UK scene. (After all, we did put her on the cover of XLR8R and made her a centerpiece of our first big UK funky feature.) Yet as the last two years have gone by, the flow of new Cooly G tunes has slowed significantly, leaving many to wonder if the producer still has the proverbial "it." With the release of new single "Landscapes" b/w "It's Serious," it appears that the answer, at least for now, is a pretty solid yes. Read more » 

  • Filed under: review
  • 11/10/2011

Boddika Adds Two More Aliases

With two records coming out next week on Darkestral, Boddika (a.k.a. Al Bleek a.k.a. Alex Green) will also be unveiling two new monikers to match the pair of releases. Although he's already one half of Instra:mental, Boddika will be teaming up with Darkestral label boss Drkstr to form another twosome, Transportation AAD, which has tracks on both of the upcoming records. Boddika's other new handle is Grey Goo, under which he'll be spilling out dark and cinematic tracks on the second release. Preview both 12"s after the jump. (via FACT) Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/10/2011

Download: OneAuff "Knits"

The b-side to OneAuff's recently released Heavy Heady EP is a slice of heavenly disco house that follows in the spaced-out tradition of Norwegian producers Todd Terje and Lindstrom. "Knits" is built around an old-school organ stab and bongo rhythms and the track rises and falls as layers of synth and rolling bass come and go. Brooklyn-based producer OneAuff (a.k.a. Steve Raney) has previously released material on Throne of Blood with collaborator Eamon Harkin as Harkin & Raney and has several remixes and a digital-only releases under his belt, but Heavy Heady just might be his most complete and fully realized record to date. In addition to "Knits," the EP also contains the title track and remixes by Nick Chacona and Tuff City Kids.  

Average: 7.5 (47 votes)

Download: Kuhn "Back 'N' Forth (Drop/Dead Alternative Remix)"

Label: Civil

Civil Music, label home to artists such as Starkey, Drums of Death, and Om Unit, will be releasing a new EP from young Brooklyn-based producer Kuhn on November 14. The expansive Slime Beach EP (pictured above) contains four originals and six remixes, including this one by London-based producer Drop/Dead. One of two Drop/Dead reworks on the EP, the track offers an easier listen than the original, swapping out the brooding detuned pads, footwork rhythms, and panned polyrhythmic vocals for a groovier, garage-influenced sound with thumping percussion and even more severely altered vocal snippets. Prior to Slime Beach, Kuhn originally entered the scene with a series of self-released EPs, and has chosen to continue the tradition by offering another free remix EP, We're Gonna Make It, which can be found after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.9 (56 votes)

Video: Sepalcure "Pencil Pimp"

Brooklyn bass duo Sepalcure isn't taking any chances when it comes to spreading the word about its forthcoming self-titled LP, which is scheduled to drop on November 22 via the Hotflush label. This week saw the release of the "Pencil Pimp" single—perhaps you remember b-side "I'm Alright," which we recently offered for free download—and now Travis Stewart and Praveen Sharma have unveiled the "Pencil Pimp" video. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/09/2011

Egyptrixx to Release New 10" Single

On November 28, Less Music will be releasing a vinyl-only 10" single by Toronto-based beatmaker and Night Slugs affiliate Egyptrixx, with help from visual artists Datdatdat and Seripop, and indie band Ohbijou. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/09/2011

Download: D/R/U/G/S "Mila"

First Listen

Prior to the release of his new three-track single, "Connected," via Moshi Moshi imprint Tender Age, UK producer D/R/U/G/S has opted to share with us a new track that will not be be on his forthcoming record. "Mila" is an accessible piece of laid-back electropop with a steady four-on-the-floor kick and chopped-up female and male vocal samples that bounce off each other like a skittering call and response. The atmospheric and uplifting track is particularly soothing when the synth glissando periodically settles on its expected harmonic resolution. D/R/UG/S' new single comes out on November 28, but is available now exclusively on vinyl.  

Average: 7.7 (72 votes)

XLR8R x Beatport: xxxy

Over the past few months, XLR8R has been curating a special set of charts for Beatport. This week's chart comes from Manchester native xxxy, who's currently residing in London and mixing up a propulsive combination of garage and bass rhythms. Here are 10 tunes he's been enjoying as of late, a collection that obviously lists some potent dancefloor weapons but surprisingly also includes a few introspective gems as well.


Five Minutes at Berlin Music Days with Dark Sky

Last week, XLR8R was invited to Berlin to check out Berlin Music Days, a multi-day festival celebrating the city and its rich electronic-music scene. Our complete festival wrap-up is here, but we also found a few minutes to chat with UK outfit Dark Sky, whom you may remember from the excellent podcast the young trio turned in for us last summer. Fresh off a long DJ set, Carlo Anderson, Tom Edwards, and (the rather quiet) Matt Benyayer sat down with us around 4:30 a.m. in the basement of a club and discussed their music, their influences, and their first impressions of Berlin. Read more » 

Download: Unquote "Yellow Warrior (feat. Lung)"

Label: Med School

While "Yellow Warrior" is a solid stand-alone track, Russian producer Unquote (a.k.a. Vsevolod Ermakov) didn't want to create just a collection of singles for his first full-length album. Reverberation Box came out via London imprint Med School in October and contains 15 tracks of moving soundscapes that range from deep dubstep to high-energy drum & bass, all of which flow seamlessly into one another during the hour-long sonic adventure. "Yellow Warrior" blasts off with a rumbling bassline and reaches cruising altitude when the retro-futuristic laser synths mesh with the song's churning low end. The complete tracklist and album artwork for Reverberation Box can be found after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.4 (108 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player