XLR8R - logo


Listen to Martyn's Resident Advisor Podcast

Martyn-related excitement is already at a fever pitch this week, as his much-anticipated sophomore album, Ghost People, is finally dropping on Brainfeeder. (In case you missed it, the entire LP is still streaming here.) Yet the shape-shifting producer has elected to turn up the heat even further, assembling a brand-new mix for Resident Advisor. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/10/2011

Listen to M83's 'Hurry Up, We're Dreaming' LP Now

Whatever it is that you're currently doing, stop it right now and go listen to the brand-new M83 album, Hurry Up, We're Dreaming. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/10/2011

Burial and Massive Attack Collaborate on 12"; Stream the A-Side Now

Elusive UK dubstep demigod Burial just unveiled his latest work set to see the light of day, a collaborative 12" with trip-hop veterans Massive Attack. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/10/2011

Balam Acab Announces First Tour

The music of Balam Acab has an undeniable bedroom quality, yet youthful producer Alec Koone is finally ready to take his thoughtful sounds to the live stage. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/10/2011

Download: Remarc "RIP (Phillip D. Kick's Footwork Jungle Edit)"

This skittering footwork edit of old-school jungle tune "R.I.P." by Remarc comes to us courtesy of Phillip D. Kick, the now-defunct pseudonym of UK tunesmith Om Unit. The project, which started as a secret "experiment" before uncontrollably rising to a place of notoriety (both good and bad) among jungle fans around the world (read the whole story here), has just been laid to rest after the release of Footwork Jungle Vol. 3, a four-track offering of breakneck rhythms and basslines. You can nab one of those here, and stream the whole thing after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.9 (74 votes)

Red Bull Music Academy Unveils the Complete List of 2011 Participants


With only two weeks to go until the start of this year's Red Bull Music Academy in Madrid, and fresh off the announcement unveiling the first round of events, the folks at RBMA have decided to release the complete list of participants in this year's academy. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/10/2011

High Five: Sleep ∞ Over

Austin, Texas resident Stefanie Franciotti is the sole remaining member of band-turned-solo project Sleep ∞ Over, a mystic and temperamental force in the realm of lo-fi pop music. Her tunes, like the enchanting "Romantic Streams" and heavenly "Casual Diamond," often straddle the lines between smoky and sweet, noisy and serene, nostalgic and otherworldly, and have quickly captured the attention of listeners with a taste for the esoteric and an ear for haunted melodies. Read more » 

Download: Purple & Green "Right Here (Emotion II Emotion Club Mix)"

Label: 2510

Self-described as a "post-experimental lazer-funk party-music space ship," Purple & Green (pictured above) is comprised of Portland's Adam Forkner (a.k.a. White Rainbow) and Justin Leon Johnson, two dance music patrons of the highest order. This "club mix" by Emotion II Emotion pares down the spacey sounds and implements a straightforward piano-house sound that skips and bounces in all the right ways while the song's soulful vocal performance is showcased front and center. You can check out all of Purple & Green's "Right Here" 12" here

Average: 6.6 (60 votes)

Review: Rustie Glass Swords

Label: Warp

Glass Swords, the debut full-length from Glaswegian producer Rustie, is many things, but it's not subtle. If certain albums are exercises in restraint, this LP is essentially the polar opposite of that. No matter how the album is ultimately viewed and judged, nobody will be saying that Rustie didn't really go for it. It's bombastic, it's vibrant, it's neon, it takes an everything-and-the-kitchen-sink approach, and it's also stunningly good. Read more » 

  • Filed under: review
  • 10/10/2011

Onra Announces 'Chinoiseries Pt. 2'

French sample flipper and futuristic boogie patron Onra has announced he will release the second installment of his Chinoiseries, promising another LP of instrumental beat compositions that utilizes strictly source material found in China and Vietnam. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/10/2011

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player