XLR8R - logo


Video: Battles "My Machines"

Let it never be said that Battles has no sense of humor. If the NYC supergroup's often playful, even whimsical music wasn't enough of an indication that the guys who make up this trio are a bunch of jokers, maybe this video for Gloss Drop cut "My Machines," which features '80s legend Gary Numan, will do the trick. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 09/07/2011

Download: Oneohtrix Point Never "Sleep Dealer"

Label: Software

Just last month, we were surprised and certainly pleased to hear that Brooklyn synth experimentalist Daniel Lopatin (a.k.a. Oneohtrix Point Never) was nearly set to drop his latest solo LP, the 10-track Replica. We say surprised because the guy seemed plenty busy working on the debut album for his Ford & Lopatin project, supporting its release with performances around the world, and starting up his Mexican Summer-affiliated imprint, Software. But as "Sleep Dealer," the first cut to surface from Replica, shows, Lopatin hasn't spread himself too thin across his many artistic endeavors. In fact, the deft use of sampled rhythms and woozy soundscapes exhibited here are further evidence of a producer honing his craft, not to mention creating something uniquely his own. Oneohtrix Point Never will embark on a handful of US tour dates before Replica drops on November 8, the details of which you can find after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.2 (51 votes)

Well Rounded Housing Project to Release Julio Bashmore Remixes of Deadboy's "Heartbreaker"

Bristol-based producer Julio Bashmore (a.k.a. Matthew Walker, pictured above) has been on quite a prolific roll lately, dropping a string of contemporary classics over the past year or so. Keeping it going, Walker is set to release a new, two-track remix 12" of Deadboy's 2009 single, "Heartbreaker," via Brighton label Well Rounded Housing Project. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 09/07/2011

Listen to Distal's Forthcoming 'Boss of the South' EP

Suddenly, Distal is everywhere. Just yesterday, we premiered a new track from the Atlanta-based producer, and next week he'll be releasing a new EP, Boss of the South, via Sinden's Grizzly imprint. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 09/07/2011

Planet Mu To Release EP From Chicago's Ghettotechnitianz

There's no doubt about it, we're in the throes of a full-blown juke and footwork explosion. Over the past year or so, µ-Ziq's trend-setting Planet Mu label has been at the fore of the movement, documenting it as it happens. Next month, the label will be offering up its latest chapter, the brand-new Ghettontechnitianz EP. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 09/07/2011

Bubblin' Up: Samo Sound Boy

Samo Sound Boy loves living in LA, although he can't quite put his finger on what makes the city so special. "It's really unstructured. It's wild, and it feels strangely lawless in places." The 26-year-old DJ and producer born Sam Griesemer doesn't live in some obscure corner of the city, either, having set up shop in Echo Park, within shouting distance of Elysian Park and Dodger Stadium. "Where I live now, it's not by any means off the beaten path, it's right off Sunset. But at the same time, there are coyotes on the street all the time, and my weird neighbor sits outside with a small pistol every night to protect his dogs." Read more » 

Download: Teen Daze "Surface (Brothertiger Remix)"

First Listen
Label: Waaga

Can't wait for the release of the new Teen Daze (pictured above) EP, A Silent Planet, via Waaga Records on September 13? Well, we have a bit of good news, as the mysterious Vancouver producer has just slipped us a taste in the form of Brothertiger's nostalgia-hued remix of lead single "Surface." Fans will note that the original has been floating around online for a while now, which makes listening to Brothertiger's take all the more interesting. While the original exhibited an almost organic mellowness, Brothertiger's remix rebuilds the track on a simple, four-on-the-floor drum pattern with emulated Fairlight vocal samples, '80s synth arpeggiations, harsh filters, and a slick production sheen that was altogether missing from the original's lo-fi bedroom aesthetic.  

Average: 7.2 (47 votes)

Review: Walton Walton EP

Label: Hyperdub

2011 has been an interesting year for Kode9's Hyperdub imprint. After a torrid 2010 that included full-lengths from Ikonika, Terror Danjah, and Darkstar, not to mention high-profile singles from the likes of Cooly G, DVA, Kyle Hall, LV, and others, 2011 has seen the London-based imprint scaling back on the number of releases and largely focusing on a new crop of genre-blending artists. The latest is 20-year-old Manchester producer Walton, whose four-track, self-titled debut came out this week. Read more » 

  • Filed under: review
  • 09/07/2011

Roska's Kicks & Snares Label Announces Latest Release

Started in 2007 as a platform for Roska's own tracks, London-based imprint Kicks & Snares has since done its part in promoting the new talent of the burgeoning UK bass scene. That trend continues with the release of Call 4 Backup, the latest EP from British producer Tickles. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 09/07/2011

Download: Robot Koch "Lights"

Berlin-based producer Robot Koch (a.k.a. Robert Koch) is back with his third full-length LP, The Other Side. This comes following a recent collaborative album with New Jersey-based MC John Robinson, Robot Robinson, and last year's sophmore LP, Songs for Trees and Cyborgs. To get us prepared for The Other Side's release on October 7, Koch slipped XLR8R a teaser in the form of leftfield-leaning album cut "Lights." Continuing in the vein of poppy experimentation that has marked previous Koch releases, "Lights" explores a wobbly dub soundscape of Asiatic arpeggiations, reverbed-out synth washes, and percussive glitches. The resulting product finds an approachable middle ground between the far-out experimentation of Brainfeeder and the futuristic pop of artists like Jamie Lidell, The xx, and Jimmy Edgar. 

Average: 8.2 (92 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player