XLR8R - logo


Planetary Evolution: 10 Game-Changing Moments in Planet E History

As Carl Craig's pioneering second-wave techno label Planet E turns 20, we chatted with the longtime Detroit-based producer, DJ, remixer, and label owner about some of his, and the company's, finest moments. Read more » 

Download a Free EP From San Francisco's Wav Dwgs

Late last month we shared a superb remix of "Age" by San Franciscan duo Wav Dwgs, which is comprised of hardware obsessives Bobby Browser and Greg Zifcak (of Eats Tapes fame), by fellow Bay Area producer Roche. That remix came from an EP called Condensation, which has just been made available for free download. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 04/27/2011

Chad Valley Preps Second EP For Cascine

One of the handful of choice artists hard at work delivering an array of pop-friendly sounds on the New York/London-based Cascine label (read more in depth about that imprint here), producer Chad Valley has announced he will release his second EP for the up-and-coming record hub. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 04/27/2011

Review: Daedelus Bespoke

Label: Ninja Tune

Alfred Darlington (a.k.a. Daedelus) is a dandy fella who usually has a keen nose for grooves he exhumes from discarded pop records hidden below the stacks of one-dollar Streisand albums that pollute LA's thrift shops. At his best, he floats in a psychedelic hip-hop/IDM realm that can recall De La Soul's "D.A.I.S.Y. Age." That said, Bespoke often shoots for the psych virtue of sensory overload and instead ends up a frustrating mess. Read more » 

  • Filed under: review
  • 04/27/2011

Grab XLR8R's Top 30 MP3s of the Year... So Far

Well, spring has sprung, and we've got some hot tunes... Wait, no...

Well, the sun is finally out, and what better a way to celebrate than to bring you XLR8R's hottest spring jams. Wait, nah...

Well, it's that time again—you know, the red-letter date of April 27, when we roll out our annual third-of-the-way-through-the-year list of our top 30 MP3s...? Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 04/27/2011

Download: Ford & Lopatin "Emergency Room (Gavin Russom Remix)"

Label: Software/Mexican Summer

With their forthcoming debut LP, Channel Pressure, Ford and Lopatin will be expanding their scope as purveyors of sample-heavy '80s nostalgia, an effort that began with last year's That People Play EP (released under the duo's now-discarded Games moniker). Ahead of the album's June 7 release date, the Brooklyn outfit will be dropping a limited-edition 12" of first single "Emergency Room," with remixes by Gavin Russom and The Bug. Placing his signature proggy stamp on the synthesized funk of the original, Russom teases the track out an extra four minutes with a simmering acid line and arpeggiations that wouldn't sound out of place on his Crystal Ark project. Combine that with a heap of toms in the low end and glistening synthesized cicada noises and you have a good recipe for a 5am anthem. The "Emergency Room" 12" is available digitally now, and those who want to get their hands on one of the rare slabs on vinyl can order a copy here. In the meantime, do check out the vinyl artwork, which is posted after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.2 (37 votes)

Download: Tvyks feat. C. Monts "Mitte Riddim (Chrissy Murderbot Remix)"

Label: Meanbucket

We premiered the original version of this tune from Prauge DJ/producer Tvyks and UK MC C. Monts in late 2010, and now we have this equally hyped-up remix by Chicago juke patron Chrissy Murderbot for you. The Windy City producer tosses loads of percussion into his mix, infuses his rhythms with almost inaudibly low bass frequencies, and reworks the original synth melody into a flurry of stabs that immediately recalls old-school rave favorites (not to mention contemporary revivalists of that sound like Zomby or Lone). At first, C. Monts' vocal delivery remains untouched in this version, but as we continue further into "Mitte Riddim (Chrissy Murderbot Remix)," those too get the ol' chop-and-tweak. You can check out more takes on Tvyks track from the Prauge to Berlin Remixed EP here

Average: 7 (48 votes)

Video: Fatima "Innervision"

Before the release of their collaborative Follow You EP (read more about that here), soulful Swedish singer Fatima and UK producer Floating Points have sent over this video for one of their release's four tracks, "Innervision." Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 04/27/2011

Mule Musiq to Release Sebastian Mullaert Mix Album to Benefit Japan

Japanese electronic imprint Mule Musiq is ready to do its part in supporting its injured homeland with the forthcoming release of a mix album crafted by Minilogue's Sebastian Mullaert. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 04/26/2011

Junior Boys Release New Single and Launch North American Tour

On May 31, Canadian synth-pop duo Junior Boys (who assembled this podcast for XLR8R a while back) will release "Banana Ripple," the lead single from their forthcoming album, It's All True (out June 14 via Domino). Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 04/26/2011

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player