XLR8R - logo


Isolée to Release Third Album Next Year Via DJ Koze's Pampa Records

Nearly six years after the release of his last full-length album, We Are Monster, German minimal house patron Isolée (pictured above) has finished work on his follow-up record, which will surface next year. The 11-song Well Spent Youth is scheduled to drop on January 21 courtesy of DJ Koze's Pampa Records, and will stand as DJ/producer Rajko Müller's third album under his Isolée moniker. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/24/2010

Video: SBTRKT's "Look at Stars"

Donning his latest mask of choice, UK producer SBTRKT and his recurring voice contributor Sampha dropped the "Look at Stars" single earlier this year on the Step in Shadows EP, and now the two return on this video for the excellent track. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/24/2010

Richie Hawtin to Release New Interactive iPhone and iPad Apps

Do people give iPhone apps away for Christmas? Maybe they do, we don't know, but if so, we've got a pretty solid one here that you may want to give to your closest music-nerd buddy for the holidays. Our minimal man Richie Hawtin (a.k.a. Plastikman) has another nifty gadget in the works, which will be ready for you to fiddle with next month. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/24/2010

Download: Tahiti 80 "Darlin (John Talabot's Oscuro Baile Remix)"

Barcelona producer John Talabot (pictured above) only has a handful of productions to his name, but it's hard to think of another artist who's making better slow-motion house music right now. (That's why we featured him in our Bubblin' series earlier this month.) Granted, when we say slow motion, it's not to imply that his tracks can't get a dancefloor moving, and Talabot certainly has nothing to do with the current screwed-music craze; it's just that his productions are nothing if not deliberate, slowly building from just a few bits of percussion to a euphoric, melody-filled release. The formula works to perfection on this new, nearly eight-minute-long remix of french outfit Tahiti 80. "Darlin" is the band's latest single and the original will appear on the upcoming The Past, The Present & The Possible album, set for release next February. 

Average: 8.2 (58 votes)

Download: Primary 1 "Never Know (Submerse Remix)"

First Listen
Label: Atlantic

Featured on the forthcoming 12" release for Primary 1's "Never Know" single, this remix by UK bass excavator Submerse (pictured above) is a poignant 2-stepper rife with forlorn string sections, heartwarming pads, distant-yet-piercing synth melodies, and a mess of lovelorn vocal samples. But those are just the parts tugging on your soul; it's the all-encompassing bassline and skittering dance rhythms that carry those touching elements to the place where Submerse's production belongs—your next club mix. Score this version of "Never Know" today, but look for more remixes of Primary 1's track from The Shoes and Gucci Vump when his record drops on December 6 via Atlantic. 

Average: 8.4 (139 votes)

Listen to Altered Natives' Fabriclive Promo Mix

London native Danny Yorke (a.k.a. Altered Natives) is set to follow up his recent profile feature in XLR8R's pages with a DJ set in his city's premiere nightclub, Fabric, on December 3. He'll be joined that night by Shortstuff, Mosca, Girl Unit, and more in Room Three, while the likes of dBridge, Instra:mental, Cooly G, Joker, Plastician, and SBTRKT, among many others, take over the club's other two rooms. To give you a better idea of what kinds of sounds Yorke will be taking along with him for his set, the mixmaster hooked up a great mix of soundsystem-ready dance music. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/24/2010

Download: Jatoma "Little Houseboat (Kenton Slash Demon Remix)"

The elusive Jatoma trio (pictured above) released its self-titled debut full-length of precious, intricately made ambient house music earlier this month via Kompakt, and here, we're treated to a remix of the album's bubbling opener, "Little Houseboat," from Copenhagen's Kenton Slash Demon. The production duo remains true to the percolating vibe of Jatoma's tune, as they leave the softly boiling synthscape to froth under the surface. However, Kenton Slash Demon opts for a more crisp dancefloor beat—and tosses in a bit of tasty percussion around the edges, too—rather than maintain the muffled pulse of the original, and it serves the track well. In fact, once things really get cooking past the three-minute mark, you might find yourself torn over which version of "Little Houseboat" ranks highest in your book. 

Average: 8.4 (74 votes)

Exit Records to Drop New Drum & Bass Compilation

We couldn't say it's necessarily making any comeback of sorts, but drum & bass has certainly been on the lips of the electronic music press a bit more than usual lately. With the music of Commix (pictured above) being revisited by the likes of dBridge and Instra:mental, not to mention dubstep heavy hitters like Burial, on the Re:Call to Mind remix album, the genre seems to be creeping slowly back into frame. And now, a brand-new compilation of drum & bass music is gearing up for release via dBridge's Exit Records imprint. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/23/2010

Download: Win Win "Releaserpm feat. Lizzi Bougatsos"

Label: Vice

Most of us first heard of producer XXXChange (a.k.a. Alex Epton, pictured above) as the young fella behind the bedroom-born party tunes pulsing underneath the filthy raps of Baltimore MC Spank Rock. He's since gone on to carve a name for himself with one-off remixes for high-profile acts, like Thom Yorke and Björk, and the indie elite, like Yeasayer and Panda Bear, but Win Win is the first collaborative project XXXChange has taken on since Spank Rock. Along with DJ/producer Devlin (of Devlin & Darko), Epton worked out the psychedelic, electro-tinged tropicalia of "Releaserpm," the first leak from Win Win's forthcoming self-titled debut album for Vice. The bouncing track also features the impish singing of Gang Gang Dance's Lizzi Bougatsos, a vocal delivery that floats freely over the skittering club rhythms. We'll be able to hear Win Win pair its tracks with the likes of Andrew W.K. and Hot Chip's Alexis Taylor when Win Win drops on February 15, 2011. (via FADER

Average: 7.6 (32 votes)

Teengirl Fantasy to Tour With Pictureplane

Beginning at the end of the week, psychedelic-house provocateur Pictureplane (a.k.a. Travis Edegy) will set out for a hefty tour, first in Europe and then back in the states by January. Once in the states, R&B experimentalists and recent XLR8R-featured artists Teengirl Fantasy will join him for the remainder of the tour, hopping up and down the west coast. Peep the dates for Pictureplane's Europe stint as well as the dates with Teengirl Fantasy below. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/23/2010

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player