XLR8R - logo


Download: Expendable Youth "Cannibalistic (LOL Boys Remix)"

Earlier this week, the guys from Discobelle paused their blogging to bring an official, original compilation into the world. Turned On Vol.1 was curated by DJ Neoteric and features new tunes from the likes of Nadastrom, Brodinski, Radioclit, Crookers, and Schlachthofbronx alongside efforts from a grip of up-and-coming producers whose names we'll likely be repeating endlessly in the very near future. To help drum up some extra attention for the release, remixes of Expendable Youth's "Cannibalistic" were commissioned from the likes of Samo Soundboy—check that one out here—and Montreal/LA duo LOL Boys ("pictured" above). Slowing down the original version's tweaky electro, the LOL Boys layer its hyperactive synth riffs over a seasick tribal guarachero bassline and some galloping house beats, to glorious effect. 

Average: 7.5 (36 votes)

Kon & Amir Share Their Top 50 Greatest Hip-Hop Samples

Do you like hip-hop? Certainly you do. At this point in its history, nearly everyone likes some form of the classic genre. Well, if you ever wondered about the building blocks of what could arguably be one of the world's most popular styles of music, wonder no more. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 05/18/2010

Gold Panda Set to Tour US with HEALTH, Indian Jewelry

Gold Panda has been setting the indie blogosphere aglow as of late with his intricately produced, electro-tinged hip-hop beats and micro-sampled atmospheres. His work has landed the UK producer a slot on HEALTH's forthcoming second remix album, and he also has his own set of releases coming out on the respectable Ghostly label. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 05/18/2010

Check Out a Free Mix From Delorean Friend K**O For Hyperdub 2010 Off-Sonar

Here's a sweet promo mix from Spanish DJ K**O (pronounced "kee-goh")—who also collaborates with Delorean on party/blog Desparrame—for the upcoming Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 05/18/2010

Download: Oval "Ah!"

During the 10 years that Markus Popp (a.k.a. Oval) has refrained from releasing any of his melodically experimental electronic tunes, it seems the producer has been quietly reformatting his approach. Ditching form for function, Popp used a $500 PC and some run-of-the-mill computer software to flesh out his weighty 15-track EP (!) and 70-track double-disc album (!!), scheduled for release in June and September, respectively. "Ah!" is the second track from the upcoming LP O, and it offers just the smallest taste of what to expect from Oval's over-sized project: plinking synths played by hand, impeccably programmed drum sounds, and lilting atmospherics rising and falling behind it all. 

Average: 8.3 (60 votes)

Mount Kimbie Releases Details of Debut For Hotflush

Dominic Maker and Kai Campos, known best as dubstep futurists Mount Kimbie, have put the finishing touches on their debut album, an 11-track release coming out July 19 on Hotflush. The forthcoming full-length is entitled Crooks & Lovers, and follows Kimbie's first two EPs for Hotflush, 2009's experimental endeavors Maybes and Sketch on Glass. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 05/18/2010

John Hughes III (a.k.a. Slicker) Returns With New Album Today

The man behind Hefty Records, and the aliases Bill Ding and Slicker, John Hughes III, returns after a lengthy break to the world of recorded music. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 05/18/2010

Download: Bumps feat. Guilty Simpson "Drums"

Label: Stones Throw

It ain't Madlib or Dilla, but Tortoise side-project Bumps provides Detroit MC Guilty Simpson with a tailor-made, dirty and distorted breakbeat that we wouldn't mind hearing on the rapper's next album. Chances are we won't get our wish, so we'll just let this three-and-a-half-minute beat suite play on repeat while we dream of what could be, and maybe mix in Koushik's remix every once in a while to change things up. 

Average: 7 (21 votes)

Ghetto Division Keeps it Self-Titled with New Album, Label

Chicago's South Side DJ/production crew Ghetto Division has a bit of news following the recent City Guide podcast they hooked us up with. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 05/18/2010

Podcast 138: FaltyDL

It seems like only yesterday that FaltyDL (a.k.a. Drew Lustman) was just another mild-mannered NYC beatmaker whose little album on Planet Mu had wormed its way into our hearts. Actually, it was only last summer. Regardless, the last 10 months have been a veritable FaltyDL whirlwind, as Lustman has followed up Love Is a Liability with top-flight releases on Ramp and Rush Hour, not to mention remixes for Mount Kimbie and The xx. Read more » 

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player