XLR8R - logo


T. Williams Announces New EP, Shares First Single

West London house producer T. Williams has announced the imminent arrival of his next EP, Pain & Love, which will drop on September 17 via PMR, the UK label responsible for recent releases from the likes of L-Vis 1990, Julio Bashmore, and Jessie Ware. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 08/21/2012

Watch a Behind-the-Scenes Video About 'Mala in Cuba'

The latest album on the way from Digital Mystikz's Mala, a "South London meeting Havana" fusion project titled Mala in Cuba, is set for release on September 10, and the UK dubstep don has unveiled a behind-the-scenes video about the making of that LP. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 08/21/2012

Download: kuxxan SUUM "Cambodian Overdad"

Label: End Fence

The co-owners of the Brooklyn-based label End Fence, kuxxan SUUM and Your Move, have teamed up for the second session of the imprint's ongoing single series. The release consists of "Cambodian Overdad," a throbbing tune crafted by kuxxan SUUM, and a remix of the cut helmed by his partner. On his production, kuxxan SUUM delivers cavernous beats populated by water drops, claps, and wavering vocal yawns, and you can stream/download its counterpart in the player embeded after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.9 (61 votes)

Listen to Holy Other's Debut LP

It's been sometime coming and we've already heard bits and pieces of it, but now, you can stream Holy Other's debut LP for Tri Angle, Held, a week before its release. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 08/21/2012

Podcast 261: Royal-T

Grime is an interesting genre. Pundits have long been eager to declare the sound "dead," yet now, nearly a decade past its initial appearance on the UK musical landscape, grime is experiencing what can only be viewed as an all-out resurgence. The efforts of veteran artists like Terror Danjah and (occasionally) Wiley continue to be celebrated, and a new generation led by Elijah & Skilliam's Butterz crew has brought a vibrant, neon-streaked strain of grime to the forefront. One of the key figures in that movement is Royal-T, who joined the Rinse FM stable earlier this year and will soon be releasing his debut full-length, Rinse Presents: Royal-T. The album will arrive in early September, but in the meantime, we've invited the young British producer to put together an exclusive mix for the XLR8R podcast series. Read more » 

Download: Everyman "Let It Up"

Label: Four40

Leicester production duo Everyman (a.k.a. Samm Harrison and Danny Ashton) recently released its Take the Block EP via Four40, and subsequently offered one of its tracks as a free download. "Let It Up" channels a bit of tribal energy with stark beats, rapid-fire vocal chants, and ample use of hand drums, but the tune owes just as much to Pearson Sound-style bass tones and snare rolls. Everyman's song flattens out into a valley of sparse percussion about halfway through, just before cascading into a bout of clanging percussion and deep, rounded low end.  

Average: 5.9 (42 votes)

Review: Four Tet Pink

Label: Text

It's strange to think of Four Tet as one of today's most important creators of dance music. Even when taking into consideration his impeccably crafted and loving tribute to London's Plastic People club, 2010's There Is Love in You, as well as his collaborations with fellow heavyweights Burial and Thom Yorke, the artist born Kieran Hebden has always been a masterful musician and producer whose style of electronic music has often sounded more like it was inspired by the dancefloor than actually meant for it. Although it wasn't clear at the time, things began to change with the release of Four Tet's Fabriclive mix in 2011, which featured a percussion-heavy exclusive called "Locked." Proving not to be an anomaly in his repertoire, Hebden soon started dropping solo 12"s via his Text label, all of them boasting similarly beat-centric tunes. As months passed and the releases piled up, each one bolstered the notion that something big was around the corner for Four Tet, some kind of sea change in his work. Now, we have the eight-track Pink LP, the culmination of Hebden's recent run of club-appropriate singles and easily one of the best albums to be heard this year. Read more » 

  • Filed under: review
  • 08/21/2012

Download: Roaming "Believe in Reflecting (Smallpeople Remix)"

Label: Smallville

German producers Christopher Rau and Moomin have teamed up in the past, but the two beatmakers have just recently announced their first collaborative release under the name Roaming. The record, which drops next week via Hamburg imprint Smallville, features two original productions by the duo, as well as a remix of title track "Believe in Reflecting" by label co-owners Smallpeople (a.k.a. Dionne and Julius Steinhoff). Although the beat in the remix hits harder than that of the original, "Believe in Reflecting (Smallpeople Remix)" has a more subdued feeling overall. The sticky drums are overlaid with twinkling piano keys and serene synth pads that make for a quietly poignant mix. 

Average: 7.1 (39 votes)

Stream Matthew Dear's New LP

Matthew Dear's fifth LP, Beams, is set to be released next week via Ghostly, but the producer and bandleader has already unveiled a stream of of it today. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 08/20/2012

Download: Jori Hulkkonen as Third Culture "Gonna Track You Down"

First Listen

Following his first release as Third Culture, the Options EP, Finland's Jori Hulkkonen is back with a full-length album, called Negative Time (artwork above). Here, we're treated to the textured "Gonna Track You Down," a bonus offering unveiled before that LP drops on September 24 via My Favorite Robot. The tune's lush soundscape is anchored by a pulsing bassline, as Hulkkonen's synth lines compete against the bang and rattle of his drums for the spotlight. 

Average: 7.9 (81 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player