XLR8R - logo


Video: San Gabriel "Experimental Forest"

Los Angeles "mountain rave" producer San Gabriel has shared a video for "Experimental Forest," a cut off of his upcoming VOLFE EP. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 04/24/2012

Download: Kuhrye-oo "Human Rights (Nadus Remix)"

First Listen
Label: UNO

A member of the backing bands for both Grimes and Born Gold, Kuhrye-oo is stepping out on his own and prepping a self-titled debut EP for NYC's UNO label that drops next week. We last heard from the Canadian-born producer on a gloomy I-f edit, but the Kuhrye-oo EP marks his first proper set of solo productions. Featured here, the beatmaker enlists NJ producer Nadus (a member of the Brick Bandits crew) to supply a brooding, Massive Attack-esque remix of "Human Rights," a song which will be present in both its original and remixed form on the official release. The EP will be available on May 1, but you can check out the artwork and tracklist now, after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.5 (66 votes)

Stream the New EP from Nautiluss

Has anyone else noticed that the Turbo label seems to have undertaken a significant stylistic shift in 2012? We're certainly not complaining, but prepping releases from Locked Groove and enlisting people like Martyn for remixes is not what most people would have expected from the Tiga-fronted imprint even a few months back. Next week, the label will be taking another step into more bass-oriented waters, dropping a new EP from Nautiluss. The Toronto-based producer has undergone many transformations over the years, previously serving as one-half of Thunderheist and Bassanovva, but the Nautiluss moniker seems to be his vehicle to respond to the low-end-heavy sounds emanating from across the pond. The four-track EP, αlpha (artwork above), will be officially released on April 30. In the meantime, the record is streaming in full here on XLR8R. Give it a listen, after the jump. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 04/24/2012

Podcast 244: Fantastic Mr Fox

For a while there, it felt like Fantastic Mr Fox (a.k.a. Stephen Gomberg) was going to be one of those artists who simply disappeared into the ether, never to return. After dropping a slew of hotly tipped releases in 2009 and 2010, touring extensively with The xx, and building a solid name for himself before the concept of "bass music" really resembled a concrete scene, the UK producer pulled back from the spotlight. Now, more than a year since his last release, news of a forthcoming new EP has emerged. The San'en EP will be released on June 4 via the Black Acre imprint, but we saw no point in waiting that long to see where the young artist's head is at, at least musically. Read more » 

Download: Tolga Fidan "Fairwell 22"

Label: Vakant

Berlin-via-Istanbul producer Tolga Fidan will be releasing his debut full-length, Rogue, on May 21 via Germany's Vakant imprint. Fidan has put out a long line of upbeat tech-house singles for that label and others over the years, including Cadenza and New Kanada. "Fairwell 22," an advance cut off of Rogue, is notably downtempo and gloomy, featuring forlorn vocals from Fidan and an array of minor-key synth tones. Check out Rogue's artwork and tracklist, after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8 (61 votes)

Review: Hackman & Tessela Now I've Lost My Number 4 EP

The Amsterdam-based Audio Culture imprint follows up its excellent Presk and Cinnaman EP from late last year, once again in the form of a collaborative effort. This time around, Audio Culture has tapped two steadily rising UK producers, Hackman and Tessela, for a pair of heavy-handed rollers topped off with a remix from one of Amsterdam's own rising talents, Presk. Read more » 

  • Filed under: review
  • 04/24/2012

Shackleton Announces Box Set of Unreleased Material

Shackleton has announced the release of a new, extensive box set of unreleased material, his first new solo full-length release since 2010's Fabric 55. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 04/24/2012

Download: Forrest "Trinity (Lawrence Black's 4AM Mix)"

First Listen
Label: Amadeus

We're treated to some smooth and marbled deep house from Los Angeles producer Lawrence Black on his remix of "Trinity" by Forrest (pictured above), which he crafted for the growing Amadeus label. A Dirtybird-style bassline, fat and full of hip-swerving momentum, sends "Trinity (Lawrence Black's 4AM Mix)" along a moody trajectory toward the introspective end of the dancefloor, as cascades of conversational snippets and an inhuman, droning voice lurk in the distance. The track's breakdown introduces a snaking-yet-lethargic arpeggio that serves to highlight a hauntingly lonesome refrain just before the bass thuds return for one last jaunt. After the jump, you can take a look at a teaser video for Forrest's forthcoming Trinity / Don't Forget Forrest EP (out digitally now), as well as the artwork and a short mix previewing the release.  Read more » 

Average: 7.2 (57 votes)

Stream Lone's Forthcoming Album, 'Galaxy Garden'

As if we all didn't have plenty of new music to listen to already (like, say, the awesome new oOoOO EP, Our Loving is Hurting Us), Manchester dreamweaver Lone has let loose with a full stream of his brand-new LP, Galaxy Garden. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 04/23/2012

Download: Aeroplane "Caramellas (Joakim Dub)"

Label: Eskimo

Just in time for an early start to the summer weather, we've received this refix of Aeroplane's "Caramella" by veteran producer Joakim (pictured above). Appearing not on the the digital release (out today) of Aeroplane's We Can't Fly - The Remixes album, but on a limited-edition, see-through vinyl that's due out in the near future, "Caramella (Joakim Dub)" ascends like a wafting summer breeze on the tails of Chicago keys and a charmingly laid-back organ line, the entire affair buoyed by a housey progression of drums with just the right amount of swing. Clipped vocals and a distortion-heavy shaker punctuate the dub halfway through its beachside stroll, only to come back into the dunes with funky bass licks and that rising organ crescendo once more. The 12" will house another Joakim remix of the same track, in addition to a Cassius remix of "We Can't Fly." As for the full We Can't Fly - The Remixes package, you can peep the cover art and tracklist for both the digital and vinyl releases, after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.9 (76 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player