XLR8R - logo


Planet Mu to Release New Keep Shelly in Athens EP

Grecian duo Keep Shelly in Athens has apparently signed on to massive UK electronic label Planet Mu for its next release, a four-song EP called Campus Martius. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/04/2011

Download: Drive Me Home "Hook It Up"

Label: Citinite

Burgeoning London producer Drive Me Home has just released a new EP called Fast Life (out on vinyl this week and digitally next week), and has shared this slice of slow-motion electro-funk to help spread the word. "Hook It Up" fits enough rattling snares, reverb-washed claps, and booming bass into the tune's smooth, glowing flow to make this one just as appropriate for a late-night party breakdown as a smoke session at a similar hour. But Drive Me Home is no one-trick pony, and his EP has a variety of funk-dipped electronic offerings to be heard—including some vocal tracks featuring the likes of Olivier Daysoul and Spoek Mathambo, as well as remixes from Machinedrum and Computer Jay, all of which you can hear in the streaming player after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.5 (56 votes)

Om Unit to Drop New EP Featuring Machinedrum and Ital Tek Remixes

London artist Om Unit unveiled his own Cosmic Bridge label just a few months ago (check that out here), but has apparently continued to keep up with his own production work, as he will soon release a new EP via Civil Music. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/04/2011

Alixander III Announces Debut Solo Release

Alixander III (best known as the "III" of Toronto's Azari and III) has announced plans to step out on his own and issue his solo debut, the Schlamm EP. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/04/2011

Download: Soosh "Bramhall Waits"

Error Broadcast label-head Sven Swift has put together a free compilation of his favorite tunes within the genres of "instrumental hip-hop in the widest sense... bass music, as the kids say," entitled Super Feelers (artwork above). Here, we have one of the comp's stand-out cuts from Glasgow-based producer Soosh, who pins a touch of female crooning and icy pads beneath layers of warm low-end and pot-and-pan percussion on "Bramhall Waits." Taken from the artist's self-titled debut EP released earlier this year, "Bramhall Waits" is a fine piece of stony, reflective beat work, and one that sits well with the other eleven similarly head-nod-worthy tracks that make up the collection (including another XLR8R-featured MP3, Monlithium's "I Want Your Love"). After giving Soosh's contribution a listen below, you can head here to download Super Feelers in its entirety.  

Average: 8.4 (109 votes)

Review: Hackman "Agree to Disagree" b/w "Sunburst"

Label: PTN

With the exception of perhaps Jamie XX, no other producer has shown the ability to navigate the strains of UK bass with such a keen sense for melody and seemingly miss-matched sounds (steel drums, other island-reminiscent bells, and Casio-esque organs make regular appearances) as Hackman. The young Londoner adds two new tracks to his impressive run of garage-influenced tunes with his latest single, "Agree to Disagree" b/w "Sunburst," and effectively gives us a preview of what to expect from his forthcoming debut LP, As Above, So Below. Read more » 

  • Filed under: review
  • 11/04/2011

Floating Points Announces New EP, Shares Video

The adventurous UK producer, bandleader, and current PHD student known as Floating Points has announced a new five-track EP, Shadows, which is set to be released later this month on his own Eglo imprint. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/04/2011

Download: The Two.Fifteens "Ballad of El Guapo"

The somewhat anonymous Los Angeles duo known as The Two.Fifteens has dropped a new mixtape, The Commute Vol. 1, from which the swirling "Ballad of El Guapo" comes to us. If this track is any indication, the SoCal pair has been steadily continuing its exploration of dark, almost unsettling boom-bap since first appearing on our radar earlier this year. The 18 tracks of originals, remixes, and edits that comprise the mixtape are said to serve as a deeper introduction to the work of The Two.Fifteens before they release a proper album some time during summer of next year. After giving "Ballad of El Guapo" a listen below, you can head here to download the entire The Commute Vol. 1 for free. 

Average: 7.9 (47 votes)

Download: Shlohmo "Couch (Soosh Remix)"


As young West Coast producer Henry Laufer (a.k.a. Shlohmo) continues to rise in popularity, so does the demand for his body of rickety beat work, which includes releases stretching back to 2009. The tunesmith's first 'mini-album', Shlo-Fi, first appeared back then, courtesy of the forward-thinking Error Broadcast label, and is now being treated to a re-release on 12" vinyl, as well as a limited-edition double-LP version that features Shlohmo's nine original productions along with four remixes (five in the digital package). This downtrodden version of "Couch" by Glaswegian beatmaker Soosh is among those new versions, and perfectly exhibits the kind of brooding, fuzzy electronics Shlo-Fi boasts as a whole. You can check out the artwork and full tracklist before the record drops on December 5, below.  Read more » 

Average: 8.4 (276 votes)

Download a New Free EP From Nicolas Jaar

Following the news from earlier this week that young house auteur Nicolas Jaar was readying a new EP from his fresh collaborative project DARKSIDE, he's also dropped a new solo EP today, which you can download for free. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 11/03/2011

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player