XLR8R - logo


Download: Golden Girls "Kinetic (Lone Remix)"

Apparently crafted to help spread the word of his forthcoming new EP for R&S, Lone's (pictured above) remix of vintage cut "Kinetic," originally by label alumni Golden Girls, finds the hotly tipped producer still digging deep into his bag of old-school rave and classic Detroit techno sounds—presenting them expertly mixed with his patented woozy synth tones and underwater atmospheres. And even though he's sampling the much of his melodic backbone from the early '90s dance jam, everything here sounds exactly like an original Lone track. It just goes to show that tunesmith Matt Cutler is an artist with a singular vision, one he fully realizes time and time again, and always in fresh and exciting ways. (via Pitchfork

Average: 8.4 (104 votes)

Fat Beats Launches Monthly Pop-Up Shop in Brooklyn

The Fat Beats chain of record stores was a legend in the hip-hop community, a legend that sadly came to an end last year when founder/owner Joe Abajian (a.k.a. DJ Jab) was forced to close the final two stores in Los Angeles and New York due to slow sales and a decision to focus on the label/distribution side of the company. Apparently, Abajian still has the bug to sell actual vinyl to people in traditional record-store fashion and has announced that Fat Beats will be hosting a monthly pop-up shop in its Brooklyn warehouse starting tomorrow, March 5. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 03/04/2011

Listen to a New Appleblim Mix Before He Plays Fabric's Room One

On Saturday, March 12, Apple Pips boss and UK bass wrangler Appleblim will help take over Room One at London's illustrious Fabric club with the likes of Shackleton, Ricardo Villalobos, and Craig Richards. To further excite everyone planning to attend the auspicious get-down (not to mention those of us who just enjoy really good music), the producer/mixmaster had a chat with the Fabric blog and also crafted a slick mix of tunes you're likely to hear at his performance. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 03/04/2011

Download: Om Unit "Prawn Cocktail"

Label: Civil

London-based producer Om Unit is one of those producers who operates outside of traditional genre definitions, melding together sounds and trying on different styles whenever it suits him. On his latest EP, The Timps, which comes out March 21, Om Unit delves into the world of electro—real electro, not the buzzsaw bangers that have been masquerading underneath its banner in recent years. "Prawn Cocktail" is a prime example, a track that sounds a lot more like Cybotron than MSTRKRFT. Powered by pulsing synths and 808 beats that recall vintage Detroit, the song doesn't have many bells and whistles, but it doesn't really need any. It's just a sleek piece of dancefloor-friendly magic, a tune that's also prime for remixing; the re-work by Salva, which also appears on the five-track release, is quite potent. To hear more, check out the EP's teaser video, posted after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.2 (48 votes)

John Maus to Release New Album in June

Minnesota's resident weirdo-pop auteur and one-time XLR8R TV subject, John Maus, has another LP ready to be unleashed on the music world come this summer, and it bears the absurdly long, heady title We Must Become the Pitiless Censors of Ourselves. The record will drop via Maus' longtime label home Upset the Rhythm! in the UK and Ribbon Music in the US on June 27 and 28, respectively. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 03/04/2011

Casual Fridays: Flowered Up!

Our resident stylist Andrew Porter waxes casual on men's and women's must-haves. Read more » 

Download: The Revenge "Elements of Fife (Tone Mix)"

First Listen
Label: Poker Flat

Glasgow's Graeme Clark is The Revenge, a contemporary artist mining the classic sounds of New York and Chicago house music for use in his modern productions. This analog-built tune, "Elements of Fife (Tone Mix)," is one such composition, and comes from a forthcoming compilation of similar tracks to be released via Steve Bug's Poker Flat imprint, called Forward to the Past (read more about it here). Clark wastes no time laying down the heavy 909 groove for his seven-minute jam, but does quite slowly add to the sparse, percussive mix with ticking rhythms and the subtlest of melodies. And though The Revenge calls upon the salad days of house to inspire "Elements of Fife," its aesthetic is still perfectly in line with many of the club burners we've been hearing of late. Here's to timeless dance music. 

Average: 7.4 (36 votes)

Video: Femme En Fourrure "Bronco"

Helsinki's Femme En Fourrure duo has a brand-new EP ready to drop via its hometown's Top Billin label on March 18. "Bronco" is its deep, brooding title track, and is paired with an equally dark and far and away more sinister music video here, courtesy of the Cocoa production team. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 03/04/2011

Download: National Park System "Silver Miner"

A seeming newcomer to the San Francisco electronic music landscape, National Park System is Bay Area resident Nicholas Yu, a producer of interstellar atmospheres, moody beatscapes, and the occasional leftfield pop hook. On his latest short-format release, A Visitor's Guide (pictured above), Yu offers four songs that highlight each of his stylistic strong points—sometimes all at once. "Silver Miner" melds together heavy industrial rhythms with brooding synth washes, audio snippets from otherworldly source material, and a hint of psychedelia. National Park System's music explores an eclectic range of styles that interplay quite effortlessly, setting him apart from most of the other production work coming out of San Francisco lately. You can hear the rest of National Park System's A Visitor's Guide before it's released in June, here

Average: 8.2 (60 votes)

Poker Flat to Release 'Forward to the Past' Compilation in April

Germany's Poker Flat label has a brand-new compilation in the works, and is set to drop the record on April 4. The 12-track offering is called Forward to the Past, and will feature only brand-new, exclusive tracks from the likes of Kink, Redshape, label head Steve Bug (pictured above), Martin Landsky, and others. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 03/03/2011

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player