XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 3

Download: Vhyce "Long Way"

First Listen
Label: Overcooked

"Long Way" starts out unassuming enough—a dusty hat skips between a simple kick-and-clap pattern—but once the tune's chords begin to creep in, it's clear there is much more on the way. Crafted by Belgian producer Vhyce for Parisian label Overcooked's upcoming All You Can Eat Vol. 2 compilation, the track aims straight at the dancefloor with its series of weighted chords and sweeping pads. Spanning over six minutes, "Long Way" develops in steps, gradually building the full-bodied track's potency. Featured here, Vhyce's contribution to All You Can Eat Vol. 2 will be joined by 10 other disparate electronic productions from fellow budding artists when the comp sees its official release on August 25. In the meantime, the full collection is streaming after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.1 (38 votes)

Download: Midnight Magic "Calling Out (Bell Towers Remix)"

After delivering a rework of its own for our Downloads section back in June, NYC outfit Midnight Magic (pictured above) are now on the receiving end of this remix treatment from London producer Bell Towers. Included as part of the recent Midnight Creepers Remixes 12" (which features additional refixes from Session Victim, Hugh Mane, and Suzanne Kraft & Secret Circuit, working together as Blase), Bell Towers' take on "Calling Out" strips the song down to more efficient form, placing spurts of the original track's vocals between cyclical synth sequences that are restlessly tweaked across the course of the seven-minute production. The Midnight Creepers Remixes 12" is out now via Permanent Vacation.  

Average: 5 (43 votes)

Download: Warsnare "Children with Feet of Giants (Mass)"

First Listen
Label: Seclusiasis

A barrage of rattling percussion and sharply cut samples line "Children with Feet of Giants (Mass)," the lead single from London producer Warsnare's upcoming Endgame mini-LP for Seclusiasis. Filling every inch of his production with sonic details, the track is a rush of audio, one which folds gasps of candy-coated R&B, red-lined bass stabs, and an innumerable number of disparate rhythmic pulses into its five-plus-minute run. "Children with Feet of Giants (Mass)" and a handful Warsnare's other sneaky bass permutations will be available in vinyl and digital format when his Endgame mini-LP drop in mid-September. 

Average: 7.8 (48 votes)

Download: Arka "You Got Me"

First Listen

UK artist Arka will issue the "Severan" b/w "The Way" 12" via the Blah Blah Blah imprint next month, and has sent over non-EP production "You Got Me" to help spread the word. An unapologetically soulful house expedition, "You Got Me" focuses on a series of chunky piano chords, which—along with some low-tuned vocal samples—effortlessly ride atop the track's slightly swung rhythms and precisely programmed bass. While Arka's bonus cut can be downloaded below, a preview stream of the Leicester-based producer's forthcoming 12" (the a-side of which was featured in Radomer's recent XLR8R podcast) can be found after the jump, before the record lands on August 25.  Read more » 

Average: 7.4 (41 votes)

Download: Rival Consoles "Helios"

First Listen
Label: Erased Tapes

An expansive electronic composition, "Helios" is set to close out the a-side of Rival Consoles' upcoming Sonne EP for the Erased Tapes label. Spanning just under five minutes, "Helios" is built on the back of a percussive shuffle, which chugs along as the producer amasses an array of glistening electronic textures. Building slowly at first, the track's buzzing arpeggios and heavenly drones eventually burst upon meeting a procession of live-played drums that enthusiastically march throughout the song's latter half. Rival Consoles' six-track Sonne EP will see its official release on September 15, to be followed later in the month by an Erased Tapes tour, which will find label affiliates Peter Broderick, Greg Haines, Douglas Dare, and Rival Consoles performing along the West Coast across a string of dates; more info can be found after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.5 (80 votes)

Download: Sleepyhead "All Night"

First Listen

Broke City is a monthly Brooklyn party that has hosted the likes of Machinedrum, Dre Skull, Dubbel Dutch, Pictureplane, Jubilee and others over its three-plus-year run. Presided over by resident DJs Dunes, Figgy, and Sleepyhead—who is featured here—the monthly event has put together a new compilation featuring tracks from friends and cohorts such as Shams and HXdB. For his contribution to the Broke City Summer Collection Volume 2 comp, Sleepyhead has put together a deep and luscious house number, "All Night," which glides with a simple skip as it weaves its way around thick chords and whispered vocals. Sleepyhead's new track, and the rest of Broke City's summer collection, can be streamed after the jump and downloaded for free here.  Read more » 

Average: 7.6 (34 votes)

Download: Philogresz "She"

First Listen
Label: PHIL

Warbly jazz piano, murky vocal chops, and sublte waves of static dot "She," helping the otherwise jacking track take an intriguing left turn towards the more off-kilter ends of the spectrum between house and techno. Pulled from the Amsterdam-based (though he's also resided in Istanbul, Rotterdam, and Antwerp) producer Philogresz's upcoming The Lost Movie LP, "She" is a fine example of the sort of dusty compositions the artist plans to present on his upcoming debut full-length. Said to (somehow) feature the producer's own Dubgray Dust alter-ego, the tune is driven by uneasy layers of rattling percussion and a particularly squirmy bassline, all of which helps land "She" intriguingly left of center. Set to appear on Philogresz's appropriately named PHIL label, The Lost Movie LP will see an official release on September 1.  

Average: 7.7 (24 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player