XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 665

Download: Black Lips "Starting Over"

Label: Vice

Black Lips announced a new album, the grandly titled 200 Million Thousand, earlier in December, and the Atlanta, GA-based garage rocking four-piece, after promising the new release would be a more melodic affair, released this track to prove the point. Following the album's release, on February 24, the band will embark on what's shaping up to be another lengthy tour, an no doubt has plenty of onstage antics planned. 

Average: 4.9 (20 votes)

Download: Casiokids "Fot i Pose (Axemax Remix)"

Norwegian electro group Casiokids likes to blend theatrical visuals with its trademark Afro-, techno-, and Northern-influenced style of danceable pop. After the success of their first single, and an exciting 12-date kindergarten tour to promote their first album, the band is set to release its next offering, Verdens storste land/ fot I hose EP, on March 2. This will mark the first in a series of 7-inches the band plans to release in 2009 on Moshi Moshi. This Axemax remix of “Fot i Hose” sullies the already dirty single with grimy machine-gun synths, cut-up reggae counter tones, and ratchet accents. Catch these crazy kids on tour with Of Montreal next month if you are in or around Europe. Or check them out at SXSW in March. Lulu McAllister  


Average: 7.7 (39 votes)

Download: Metermaids "The Blackhawk War Will Only Ruin The Nightlife If You Let It"

Masters of multiple genres, the New York-based duo known as Metermaids have stepped deep into mashup territory for their latest release, pitting their own debut album, Nightlife against the Sufjan Stevens' widely acclaimed Illinoise. An unlikely pairing this is, given that Metermaids have a tasted for all things hip-hop and beat-driven, while multi-instrumentalist Stevens is better known for his acousitc guitars and gentle piano solos. Grab Nightlife in Illinoise for free here

Average: 7.3 (47 votes)

Download: Untamed feat. Dawgy Bagz "Shotz"

Label: Mad Decent

Although a widely-circulated sampler has been floating around the internet since March, Diplo and DJ Benzi waited a long time to finally drop the complete Fear and Loathing in Hunts Vegas mixtape. Starring the Huntsville, Alabama-based Paper Route Recordz crew, Fear and Loathing features the Southern MCs spitting about sex, money, partying, and generally being gangsta over a crazy litany of beats. Diplo and Benzi get real creative here, littering the mix with samples of everyone from Orbital to George Michael. One joint even samples the "Soul Glo" jingle from Coming to America. Here, "Shotz" finds rappers Untamed and Dawgy Bagz rhyming over a cinematic violin melody snagged from the Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon soundtrack. Mad Decent is currently offering the entire mixtape on a "pay what you want" basis, so grab yourself a copy if this track gets your head nodding. 

Average: 5.5 (33 votes)

Download: J*DaVeY "No More"

Label: Self-Released

The music of J*DaVeY could fall under any one of the following umbrellas: hip-hop, future jazz, electro-jazz... basically you could make up your own genre and probably find a way to fit the duo in. Jack Davey and Brook D'Leau close out the year by giving us another free track from their double EP, The Beauty in Distortion/The Land of the Lost. This one, from the former, is a slow, steady jam for the afternoon. 

Average: 7.5 (47 votes)

Download: Calmer "Open Source"

Label: Moodgadget

With all the holiday hoopla making everyone a little crazy and causing chaotic traffic jams in subway tunnels, we thought a track by an artist who goes by the name Calmer might be suitable for this morning. Otherwise known as Collin M Palmer, this Brooklyn-based percussionist/composer's music lives up to its name on his forthcoming album, Past is Present. Call it a fusion of avant-jazz and psychedelic-influenced electronics. The new album marks his debut for Moodgadget, and will be released on January 20. Photo by Tom Gillmore. Past is Present 01 Miles Ahead (Take One) 02 Past is Present 03 Open Source 04 Rotation (Take One) 

Average: 7.8 (253 votes)

Download: The Prodigy "Invaders Must Die"

Label: Take Me to the Hospital

Invaders Must Die makes for The Prodigy's fifth studio album, and the first featuring all three members of the band since 1997's The Fat of the Land. Naturally then, it's a release where new material is steeped in the old-school rave sensibilities that first propelled Liam Howlett and Co into the electronic music spotlight. If the album's title track is anything to go by, these lads haven't lost their energy over the years, and their sound remains as unabashedly hard and heavy as it was when this photo was taken. Judge for yourself on March 3, when the album is released. Invaders Must Die 01 Invaders Must Die 02 Omen 03 Thunder 04 Colours 05 Take Me To The Hospital 06 Warrior's Dance 07 Run With The Wolves 08 Omen Reprise 09 World’s On Fire 10 Piranha 11 Stand Up 

Average: 7.8 (508 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player