XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 3

Download: Hackman "Carry On (Dub)"

First Listen
Label: 2020Vision

It's been almost a year since we last saw an official release from Hackman, the UK producer who has appeared on a number of labels over the past few years including Ramp/PTN, Greco Roman, Well Rounded, and Futureboogie. Now, Hackman is set to emerge for the first time on the 2020Vision label with the upcoming Carry On EP. Here, we have a dub version of the record's title track which peels back the original effort's light vocals, revealing the deep, slightly melancholic production which sits at the base of "Carry On." Led by a series of fluttering chords, Hackman's dub puts the tune's percussion front and center as low-reaching sub-bass slides below and ghostly melodic flourishes gradually fill the space above. Hackman's "Carry On," another original production, and a remix from Rampa are set to appear alongside this dub on the forthcoming Carry On EP, officially out via 2020Vision on November 24. 

Average: 8.3 (57 votes)

Download: VECT "Blast"

First Listen
Label: Cosmonostro

The tireless Cosmonostro label will add a new EP from French producer and graphic designer Emile Sacré (a.k.a. VECT) to its catalog next week. Pulled from the forthcoming Kent Bimaga EP is "Blast," an appropriately titled beat which presents a vibrant array of surging synth chords atop a bed of slightly stuttered rhythms. Striped with soaring vocal samples and a number of rising arpeggio melodies, "Blast" gradually gains steam throughout the course of its run before the tune's final bars eventually return to the same set of cooled-off chords which opened the production. Officially out on November 17, a cleverly animated teaser video for the rest of VECT's Kent Bimaga EP can be viewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.3 (41 votes)

Download: Jorge Balarezo "Interscribe"

A Peruvian-born, Costa-Rican raised, and now Brooklyn-based producer, Jorge Balarezo is set to issue his debut EP via Curses' Safer at Night imprint early next year. In the meantime, Balarezo has sent along "Interscribe" to whet our appetite. Spanning over eight minutes, the track is a sharply executed house affair, one which patiently builds, gradually adding (and, down the line, stripping back) layers of bubbling synths and mechanical melodies. But what really keeps Balarezo's precise dancefloor construction moving forward throughout its run is its resonant bassline; rounded and particularly active, the bass synth bounces around just below the production's more atmospheric elements, holding down the low-end spectrum while Balarezo toys with any number of sonic elements above.  

Average: 8.1 (53 votes)

Download: Snasen "Cannon Fodder"

First Listen
Label: Sellout!

The eerie "Cannon Fodder" comes to us from the forthcoming Grok EP, a five-track effort from Norwegian producer Snasen that is schedule to land on the Sellout! label next week. Said to be the result of an intensive month-long session in the studio, Grok sees Snasen return to Sellout! with his penchant for murky electronic constructions intact as "Cannon Fodder" takes shape as a slinking composition, one lined with detailed bits of off-percussion and led by a series of sneaking, slow-motion melodies. After grabbing "Cannon Fodder" below, EP cut "Stinkfist" can be streamed after the jump before Grok sees its official release on November 17, to be followed by Snasen's debut LP, which is expected to land in February of next year via Sellout!.  Read more » 

Average: 8 (34 votes)

Download: Eric Sharp "We Own the Nite (Hernene Remix)"

Label: RIS Labs

Earlier this week, LA-based producer and RIS Labs label head Eric Sharp issued his Wait Just Wait EP, a five-track digital EP which includes the remix featured here from Hernene, an artist familiar to the RIS Labs fold. Where Sharp's original "We Own the Nite" is a more dark and driving endeavor, Hernene elects to rework the tune into a bass-loaded club track, one which focuses on a set of classic house piano chords which bounce atop an active, rounded bassline and a floating procession of moody chords. Sharp's Wait Just Wait EP is out now with additional remixes from Give In and Tenova joining the record's two original productions. 

Average: 7.9 (52 votes)

Download: Cosmo Lopez "Spirals (My Panda Shall Fly Refix)"

First Listen
Label: Loungin

After appearing as a remixer in our Downloads section last week, Cosmo Lopez finds himself on the opposite side of the arrangement here with prolific London producer My Panda Shall Fly's (pictured above) refix of "Spirals," the title track for Lopez's upcoming EP for the Loungin' label. A member of the Paraguayan trio LPZ, Spirals will serve as Lopez's debut solo release when it lands on November 17, offering a electro-indebted original track alongside remixes from Benjamin Brunn, LPZ members P Lopez & Lion, and My Panda Shall Fly, whose choppy take on "Spirals" adds new low-end and a more energetic rhythmic base to Lopez's production. 

Average: 7.9 (39 votes)

Download: Chris & Antanas "Hold It Down"

First Listen

Producers Chris Woodward and Antanas Antanelis are set to combine their talents for the first time as Chris & Antanas on the upcoming Afrikaan Donce EP for the UK-based NDV label. Ahead of the record's release the pair has sent along bonus cut "Hold It Down" as a preview of sorts. Infused with smoky, basement vibes, the track is a low-swung piece of house, heavy on soul and rich with percussion. Set to appear on December 1, Chris & Antanas' Afrikaan Donce EP will present two original efforts from the pair alongside remixes from Mr. G and Manchester producer Oli Furness; in the meantime, the upcoming record can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.2 (58 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player