XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 3

Download: Louville "Dawn ‘46"

Label: Bad Taste

The Sheffield-based Bad Taste imprint is in the midst of celebrating its fifth year as a label, and to mark the occasion have released a name-your-price compilation featuring tunes from Walter Ego, Timbah, Tony Quattro, and this clattering electronic affair from Louville. Spanning almost six minutes, "Dawn ‘46" melds somber chords with a smattering of textured percussion layers, most of which fill the production's background with various shakes and clatters while a loose, thumb piano-like melody takes the lead. The second of two fifth anniversary compilations, the Bad Taste outpost's new collection can be grabbed here

Average: 7.9 (62 votes)

Download: Taskforce "CDJ2000"

A frequent producer of beats for adventurous rapper Le1f, Taskforce will issue his official debut next week via the Silverback label. Entitled Return Notice, the 21-year-old beatmaker's upcoming effort is said to be inspired by "nervous breakdowns, feedback migraines, crippling anxiety, gasoline rainbows and... 'the taste of the whip.'" Though not set to appear on Return Notice, bonus cut "CDJ2000" gives us a better sense of the Chicago-born artist's creative aims, as it unrolls an ever-evolving set of heavy-handed rhythms that chug beneath some menacingly sparse synth work. Set to include remixes from Renaissance Man and Nguzunguzu, Taskforce's upcoming Return Notice EP can be previewed after the jump before it officially arrives on November 24.  Read more » 

Average: 7.3 (60 votes)

Download: Aero Manyelo "Kharele"

First Listen
Label: Akwaaba

Born in Limpopo and raised in Johannesburg's Ivory Park township, Aero Manyelo is a South African producer who has spent a number of years building his catalog of releases, to which he will add the Herbs Abroad LP next week. Appearing towards the middle of the forthcoming album is "Kharele," a cut which fuses together African and electro rhythms, on top of which Manyelo drapes slinking synth melodies that retain more harmonic content as the track grows with intensity. Spanning just under five minutes, "Kharele" will be joined by 12 other similarly vibrant, hybridized house productions when Manyelo's Herbs Abroad LP sees its official release on November 24 via the Akwaaba label.  

Average: 6.8 (42 votes)

Download: Kepikei "cola-light"

First Listen

Despite its somewhat playful-sounding title, "cola-light" is a dark, brooding production from Slovakian beatmaker—and head of the Sonic District label—Kepikei, who plans to issue his "Velour Workout" b/w "Soma" digital single early next month via the UK's Get Some imprint. Beginning with an ominous bass drone, the track gradually builds into a dense assemblage cold synth tones. "cola-light"'s rhythmic content isn't far behind, as airy hats eventually give way to a salvo of heavy kicks and snares, balanced by the presence of reverberated snaps and tasteful bits of a skittering 808 percussion. Officially out on December 8, Kepikei's forthcoming "Velour Workout" b/w "Soma" single can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.7 (114 votes)

Download: Appian "Operator"

First Listen
Label: Fina

A burgeoning producer and Detroit native, Appian will land on London's Fina label next week with the four-track Chatter EP (which features a remix from fellow Detroit artist Monty Luke in its run). Pulled from the record's b-side is "Operator," an understated techno workout lined with the type of electro-soul one would expect to hear on a record produced in the Motor City. Spanning five minutes, the track sees Appian cleverly toying with his array of sonic elements, as a handful of sneaking synth sequences and pillowy chords bend around the production's snapping assemblage of drum-machine percussion. Officially out in vinyl form on November 24 (and digitally on December 8), the rest of Appian's Chatter EP can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.4 (50 votes)

Download: Mehmet Aslan "New Africanism"

Yesterday saw the Huntleys + Palmers imprint add a new record to its catalog in the form of the Mechanical Turk EP from Mehmet Aslan, a producer who has landed a few tracks on the London outpost's Highlife sub-label in the past. Across its three tracks, the new record sees Aslan blending facets of traditional Turkish music with his penchant for house and techno workouts. Closing out the new release on its most hypnotic note is "New Africanism," a track which wraps lush string movements and a stumbling synth bassline around thumping kicks and clattering layers of unconventional percussion. Out now, the rest of Aslan's Mechanical Turk EP can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.1 (46 votes)

Download: Tonik Ensemble "Until We Meet Again (Applescal Remix)"

Label: Atomnation

The Tonik Ensemble is in fact the brainchild of Anton Kaldal Ágústsson, an Icelandic producer and musician who enlists a number of collaborators to aid him in seeing through the completion of his hybrid electronic compositions. Today, Ágústsson and company's latest release has arrived via the Atomnation imprint, who has also invited a number of producers, including label head Applescal, to rework the Tonik Ensemble's new single, "Until We Meet Again." A spacious, moody endeavor in its original form, Applescal anchors the track's billowing textures with the thud of a kick drum and light layers of percussion, while also generously manipulating and rearranging the tune's vocals and placing the focus of the rework on a series of tenderly melodic synthlines. Applescal's remix of "Until We Meet Again" can be downloaded below, and the rest of the Tonik Ensemble's new single can be streamed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.2 (59 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player