XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 6

Download: Kouben "Illustrious"

"Illustrious" is one of seven purple-fogged productions included as part of the On Another Planet mixtape from budding Birmingham beatmaker Kouben. Utilizing enough aimless, space-burnt synth lines to justify its album title and artwork, "Illustrious" is a brief snapshot into the sonic worlds Kouben aims to create—loose percussion holds the tempo steady as moody chords and bubbling synth gurgles seep in from every corner. Out now in digital and cassette form, the rest of the young UK producer's On Another Planet mixtape can be streamed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.8 (32 votes)

Download: G Jones & Mad Zach "Spontaneity"

Label: Saturate

Earlier this week West Coast beatmaker G Jones dropped Ring the Alarm, a nine-track digital collection of new productions for the Saturate label. Pulled from the record is "Spontaneity," a short but visceral piece of space-age beatwork crafted alongside Mad Zach. On it, the two producers lay into a series of booming kicks which—along with some precise hats and snapped snares—serve as the rhythmic base on top of which the pair unravels a number of laser-sharp, octave-shifting synth melodies. The rest of G Jones' Ring the Alarm album can be picked up as a name-your-price download here, ahead of the California talent's upcoming 7" vinyl release for the label. 

Average: 7.8 (61 votes)

Download: Lance Neptune "Pink Violet"

First Listen

On "Pink Violet," Maryland-based producer Lance Neptune invites listeners to take a dip in a sea of starry eyed textures and loose-shuffling percussion. A swirling mass from start to finish, the track is pleasantly aimless, the cool swing of its relaxed shakers and hand drums joined by orbits of delay-strewn synths and reverb-washed melodies. "Pink Violet" is set to joined by a number of other original productions fro the budding artist when Lance Neptune's Synthesis LP officially touches down on August 18. 

Average: 7 (92 votes)

Download: Premiesku "Noococ"

First Listen
Label: Vakant

The Premiesku trio dropped its Pe Dos EP earlier this week, a five-track effort which features three precise house constructions from the outfit alongside remixes by Avatism and Sons of Tiki. "Noococ" is one the of the EP's original tracks, and it finds Premiesku piecing together a hypnotic procession of star-gazing synths and restless percussion, which gently shuffle across the effort's methodical seven-minute run. Out in vinyl form now and set to see a digital release on August 11, the rest of the Premiesku trio's Pe Dos EP can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8 (98 votes)

Download: Cvsper "Fairies"

First Listen

Cvsper is a 21-year-old producer from Santiago, Chile who has begun to build a catalog of original productions over the past two years. The latest effort from the budding South American talent is "Fairies," an airy track which places a lightly side-chained pads over a percussive house beat. Where the driving track really shines, is in its melodic content—light bell lines crisp synth melodies and gather around chopped vocal samples, building on top of each other more and more as the sun-washed "Fairies" steadily builds towards its heavenly climax. 

Average: 8.1 (57 votes)

Download: Deft "One Eye Open"

For most of 2014, London producer Deft has continued to quietly build up his impressive discography, which has shown increasingly the artist to be capable of proficiently crafting a wide range of UK club sounds. Most recently, Deft let loose Before Vol. 2, a collection of demos and b-sides that—for one reason or another—never found their way to an official release. As "One Eye Open" proves though, this is not for lack of quality; the soul-scorched beat is a fine example of the producer's talents, one that streaks floating chords and wordless vocals atop a detailed set of percussion, led by the precise bite of tuned snaps and miniature claps. Out now, Deft's full Before Vol. 2 can be streamed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.4 (58 votes)

Download: Lee Carvallo "So High"

First Listen
Label: Heka Trax

Glasgow's Nightwave is currently in the process of building the catalog of her own Heka Trax imprint, and to that point, has launched a summer-long series of free EPs which the label will be giving away over the coming weeks. The first such collection comes from Canadian newcomer Lee Carvallo, whose Summer Lovin' EP offers four smoothed-over R&B refixes. "So High" serves as our first taste of Carvallo's efforts, placing bulbous kicks and skittering layers of bubbly percussion beneath a series of piano-rich samples. The resulting production sounds primed to rattle some trunks, as does the rest of Carvallo's Summer Lovin' EP, which can be streamed and downloaded for free after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.2 (49 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player