XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 7

Download: Valesuchi "Golosynth"

First Listen

Santiago, Chile's Discos Pegaos label will this week release the debut outing from hometown producer Valesuchi. A budding artist chosen for this year's RBMA class, Valesuchi is said to have made waves throughout Santiago's underground music scene for years as a DJ and occasional live performer, though the forthcoming Golosynth EP will prove to be her first official outing as a solo producer. Ahead of the record's release, Valesuchi has sent along the EP's title track, a lush and moody piece of hardware-driven house which places thick, string-like chords atop a relaxed, clap-heavy beat. The rest of Valesuchi's four-track Golosynth will see a digital release tomorrow via the fast-growing Discos Pegaos imprint. 

Average: 7.7 (78 votes)

Download: Aashton "4 Real (Cosmo Lopez Remix)"

Label: Skrufix

Today sees the release of 4 Real, the latest EP to surface from increasingly active UK producer Aashton. A thick slice of bass-infused house in its original form, the title track to Aashton's new record has received a remix treatment from Cosmo Lopez (who also constitutes one-third of the LPZ outfit). On his rework (which closes out Aashton's three-track EP), Lopez reshapes "4 Real" into a more driving effort, lacing the track with a buzzing synth sequence which leads the charge to the dancefloor with an extra dose of bass weight. After grabbing Lopez's remix below, the wrestling-themed video for Aasthon's original "4 Real" production can be watched after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8 (56 votes)

Download: Profile "Move"

Label: Cut

The latest release from monthly subscription label Cut comes in the form of Estonian producer Profile's three-track Jnana EP. Closing out the record is "Move," a six-minute expedition into dense techno territory which builds in slow, hypnotic steps, eventually burying its deep and spacious bassline beneath wide-spread layers of shuffling hats and celestial pads. Joining other Cut releases from the likes of Essáy, Raindog, Firejose and label head Alex Cowles (who formerly operated as DFRNT but recently adopted the alias of Stillhead), Profile's Jnana EP is out now and can be further previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.1 (55 votes)

Download: Jeff Fressco "It Ain't No Shuffle"

Label: Widad

Widad is the newly founded sister label to French outpost B.YRSLF Division, and with its first release, the imprint has issued a 14-track compilation entitled Bidaïa to serve as its inaugural outing. Landing towards the middle of the collection is "It Ain't No Shuffle" a funk-laced effort from Amsterdam-based producer Jeff Fressco, who uses the tune's three-plus-minute runtime to lay crystalized chords and gurgled melodies atop a sparse, snapping beat. Fressco's "It Ain't No Shuffle" can be grabbed below, while Widad's full Bidaïa compilation can be streamed after the jump and downloaded for free here.  Read more » 

Average: 7.6 (74 votes)

Download: Lunabe & Djeff "Temedo"

First Listen
Label: Soundway

"Temedo" comes from the forthcoming Ten Cities compilation, the result of an ambitious project which brought together "electronic producers and musicians from five cities in Europe (Berlin, Bristol, Kiev, Lisbon, and Naples) to five cities in Africa (Cairo, Johannesburg, Lagos, Luanda and Nairobi)." The slinking contribution to the effort featured here comes from production pair Lunabe & Djeff, and features the vocals of MC Sacerdote and MC Yolanda Noivada. Built atop an African-infused rhythm, the tune lays down a series of chords that float up and down a soulful scale while resting atop infectious layers of percussion. Adding further to the track's natural flow, the production's guest MCs hang their lyrics loosely around the track's rhythmic structure, their voices slyly slipping between the song's snapping snares and crisp keys. Officially out on November 17 in CD and 3xLP form, Ten Cities is also set to include a production from Bristol mainstay Pinch, whose contribution to the collection can be streamed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.4 (53 votes)

Download: Sasquatch "When It Rains (Boxwork Remix)"

First Listen
Label: Young Bloods

Claiming a home base in both Brooklyn and Los Angeles, the Young Bloods imprint will launch early next month with Vermont-based beatmaker Sasquatch's No Sweat EP. Set to play host to three original productions from the East Coast artist, the record will also offer a handful of remixes from the likes of Distal, Heartbeat(s), AbJo, and others, including the rework featured here from London talent Boxwork. A vibrant beat peppered with live-played drums and percussion in its original form, Boxwork takes "When It Rains" to slightly darker territory, reshaping the track into a dusty affair infused with garage-indebted rhythms. Serving as the Young Bloods label's inaugural release, Sasquatch's No Sweat EP will see its official release on November 11. 

Average: 8.3 (77 votes)

Download: Arandel "Section 12"

First Listen
Label: InFiné

Anonymous production project Arandel is set to return to the InFiné label next month with its second full-length record, Solarispellis. A 12-track expedition through various shades of electronic composition, the album is divided into a variety of sections and movements including "Section 12," a slow-building production that coyly laces a loping four-on-the-floor with gaseous synths, floating melodies, and highly detailed bits of percussion and manipulated electronics. Said to consist of "no MIDI, no digital takes, or quantizing... [only] live recordings through analog synthesizers," Arandel's Solarispellis LP officially arrives on November 24. in the meantime, after grabbing "Section 12" below, those interested in heading on another of Arandel's sonic adventures can check out "Section 11" after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.3 (77 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player