XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 683

Download: Circlesquare "Untitled (For Christmas)"

Label: !K7

The last we heard from Jeremy Shaw–better known as the musical force behind Circlesquare–was over two years ago, when he released his Fight Sounds EP on Trevor Jackson's now-defunct Output Recordings. 2008 finds Shaw–now based in Berlin–gearing up for the release of another full-length, Songs About Dancing and Drugs, which will hit stores early next year via the fine people at !K7. In the meantime, he's given us this melancholy, minimal Christmas jam. 

Average: 5.6 (13 votes)

Download: ZZZ "Lion"

Label: Bang Gang

Fans of sweet piano solos, take note! The latest release from the Bang Gang crew comes courtesy of Melbourne-based boyfriend/girlfriend pair ZZZ, currently being touted as "the ultimate techno power-couple." "Lion" will hit stores on December 19 and come packaged with a couple of remixes on the b side. In the meantime, here's the piano-heavy original track. "Lion" A1 Lion A2 Leonine B1 Lion (Bag Raiders Remix) B2 Lion (Breakbot Remix) B3 Lion (Lowbrows Remix) 

Average: 7.6 (25 votes)

Download: E-Hustle "Get Your U On Remix featuring E-40"

Today finds us getting our remix on with this version of E-Hustle's "Get Your U On," which Keak Da Sneak, Baby S, and Q-Z have reworked into a Bay Area hip-hop rhyme frenzy. While the trio raps over handclaps and synthesizers, hyphy ambassador E-40 makes a cameo on the mic and a catchy guitar riff bounces along underneath. The track comes off E-Hustle's Word Pimpin 2:We Don't Need You, released last month. 

Average: 4 (12 votes)

Download: Petrona Martinez "La Vida Vale La Pena (Uproot Andy Remix)"

Bay Area neo-cumbia powerhouse, Bersa Discos, just pressed up another helping of Latin-flavored dance music with the Bersa Discos #4 EP. The new release features Brooklyn's Uproot Andy on the a side, remixing the Afro-Colombian folk music of Petrona Martinez, Toto La Momposina, and Grupo Naidy, while Netherlands-based Sonido del Principe takes the b side. We have Uproot Andy's dancefloor-friendly remix of Petrona Martinez here. Bersa Discos #4 is limited to just 1,000 copies worldwide, so this one's best not slept on. 

Average: 7.9 (50 votes)

Download: P.O.S. "Goodbye"

Conscious rapper and founding member of Doomtree, P.O.S., is ready to roll out his latest full-length, Never Better, on February 3. The new album finds the longtime member of the Rhymesayers roster rapping about cars, racing chariots, and nighttime drives. Motion appears to be not a theme on the new album, but the theme, and he's got some special packaging planned for the disc, in the form of transparent inserts that hold artwork on the front and lyrics on the back. In the meantime, he's leaked the first single off the album, which you can download here. Never Better 01 Let It Rattle 02 Drumroll (We're All Thirsty) 03 Savion Glover 04 Purexed 05 Graves (We Wrote the Book) 06 Goodbye 07 Get Smokes 08 Been Afraid 09 Low Light Low Life 10 The Basics (Alright) 11 Out of Category 12 Optimist (We Are Not For Them) 13 Terrorish 14 Never Better 15 The Brave and the Snake Dates 02/05 Missoula, MT - The Badlander 02/06 Seattle, WA - Nectar 02/07 Portland, OR Satyricon 02/09 San Francisco, CA - Bottom of the Hill 02/10 Los Angeles, CA - Knitting Factory 02/11 Phoenix, AZ - Clubhouse 02/13 Salt Lake City, UT - Kilby Court 02/14 Denver, CO - Marquis 02/15 Omaha, NE - Slowdown Jr. 02/16 Madison, WI - High Noon 02/17 Chicago, IL - Reggie's 02/18 Columbus, OH - Skully's Music Diner 02/20 Washington, DC - Rock and Roll Hotel 02/21 New York, NY - Mercury Lounge 02/22 Boston, MA - Harper's Ferry 02/23 Burlington, VT - Higher Ground 02/25 Cleveland, OH - Grog Shop 02/26 Champaign, IL - Canopy 02/27 Eau Claire, WI - Stones Throw 02/28 Minneapolis, MN - First Ave. 

Average: 7.1 (32 votes)

Download: Mike Bones "What I Have Left (Brian DeGraw Remix)"

According to songwriter Mike Bones, most of the tracks on his sophomore album, A Fool For Everyone, "exist because of beautiful women and existential despair." It follows then, that the album is a delicately constructed palate of acoustic guitars, string arrangements, and woeful lyrics about lost love. Then Gang Gang Dance's Brian Degraw got ahold of the album's single, "What I Have Left," and gave it the experimental electronic touch his band is well known for. The track, along with additional remixes from Sian Alice Group and Silk Flowers, will be packaged up as a 7" before the full album's February 3 release date. A Fool For Everyone 01 Today The World Is Worthy Of My Loathing 02 One Moment's Peace 03 A Fool For Everyone 04 Like A Politician 05 I'm A Decent Man, I Kept Repeating 06 What I Have Left 07 Much More Than Love 08 Give Up On Guitars 09 Everyone Always Coming Down On Me 

Average: 7.2 (32 votes)

Download: Masta Ace "Sittin' On Chrome (Mr. Flash Sittin on Cr02 RMX)"

Brooklyn's famed rapper Masta Ace meets Ed Banger's Mr. Flash on this remix, another track from Delicious Vinyl's RMXXOLOGY compilation that pairs legendary hip-hop artists with contemporary electronic music producers. Originally released in the 90s, this track, in the capable hands of Flash, has been updated for the dancelfoor. 

Average: 5.1 (26 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player