XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 3

Download: Brogan Bentley "Smoke"

First Listen

San Francisco-based producer Brogan Bentley is set to return to Matthewdavid's Leaving label with his debut LP, The Snake, next month. Plucked from the forthcoming 12-track effort is "Smoke," an astutely named beat which wraps smokey string chords around a slightly stuttered pattern of hats and snares, to which the occasional footwork-like fill of tuned kicks and rapid rim shots are added. Before Bentley's The Snake LP—which, according to the artist himself, is said to be "a sonic documentation of coming into new skin, living in it, and shedding it"—drops on November 11, vocal-led and equally smokey LP cut "The Difference" is also available to stream after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.1 (32 votes)

Download: Loom "RGB"

First Listen

Next month, London's grime-focused Gobstopper label (run by Mr. Mitch, who recently announced his forthcoming debut LP for Planet Mu) will issue the debut release from Daniel Timms (a.k.a. Loom). Loom's forthcoming Grade EP is said to find the London beatmaker presenting four tracks marked by "drums [that] whip and crack over an eery tapestry of low-end, unsettling pads, and obtuse melodies." As a preview of sorts, Timms has sent along EP bonus cut "RGB," a track that fits well within his record's description, with its neon-soaked synths cut by sharp drum programming and (for brief moments) occasionally dipping into more ominous atmospheres. Loom's forthcoming Grade EP can be previewed after the jump before it lands on November 7.  Read more » 

Average: 7.5 (43 votes)

Download: Premiesku "Despre Ei"

First Listen
Label: Apollonia

"Despre Ei" is the kind of track that is good at taking its time. Serving as the closing effort on Romanian trio Premiesku's More 4 EP, the seven-plus-minute production is anchored by a slippery bass pattern which hypnotically cycles through its one-bar loop as the rest of the track's rhythmic elements dig deeper and deeper. Over the course of the production, Premiesku methodically pieces together thick hats and sharp percussion, on top of which the trio places dubby chords, distant field recordings, detailed layers of electronic glitches, and even a few glimpses of what sounds like a large choir (bathed in reverb, of course). When it all comes together, it's hard not to get sucked down into the production's dense, chugging path. "Despre Ei" and the rest of Premiesku's three-track More 4 EP will see a full release later this month via the Apollonia label. 

Average: 8.7 (76 votes)

Download: Cakedog "They Was Sleepin"

An affiliate of Matthewdavid's Leaving label who can more often be found operating under the name Ahnnu, Leland Jackson this week returned to his Cakedog alias to issue his third footwork-indebted outing under the moniker, Menace in the Phantom. Said to have been "inspired by the Battle Groundz of Chicago" and dedicated to the late footwork pioneer DJ Rashad, Jackson's new 14-track outing melds the breakneck pace and sharp sample chops of footwork with his own slant on off-kliter beat production. Pulled from Menace in the Phantom, "They Was Sleepin" serves as one example of Cakedog's hybrid approach as it spends its initial push placing sliding chords and—what sounds like—Nicki Minaj vocal samples atop familiar footwork rhythms, before transitioning to more pastiched territory in the song's final minute, where looser samples and a flush of new percussion hits are introduced. Jackson's latest outing as Cakedog is out now in cassette and digital form via Leaving/Stones Throw.  

Average: 8.3 (45 votes)

Download: OOBE "Radiation"

First Listen
Label: 1080p

Vancouver's tireless 1080p label—who has already issued something along the line of 15 releases so far this year—will next add to its catalog Digitalisea, an eight-track cassette (or 11 tracks in digital form) from Turin-based artist Yari Malaspina (a.k.a. OOBE). Malaspina had appeared under his OOBE guise (which stands for "Out of Body Experience") with the SFCTR cassette for Opal Tapes in 2013, and on Digitalisea, the Italian artist seems keen to continue exploring his brand of slow-burning, sci-fi techno. Pulled from his upcoming 1080p release, "Radiation" oozes with noise-laden synth tones, their sweeping chords held up by an efficient series of airy hats and claps, and an unobtrusive kick-drum thump. OOBE's full Digitalisea cassette is slated to land on November 4. 

Average: 8 (38 votes)

Download: Seapoint "Wave Sequence (Toboggan Remix)"

Label: Tracy

The increasingly active, Mexican-born, now Barcelona-based (with a stop in Montreal) producer known as Seapoint will drop his next effort, the four-track Installation EP, via Spanish label Tracy next week. Ahead of the record's release, Seapoint has passed along the EP's closing cut, a rework of "Wave Sequence" from Montreal artist Toboggan (pictured above). Beginning with a series of stark piano chords, Toboggan eventually rebuilds Seapoint's club-rooted track into a more pensive affair, one still pushed forward by a thick rhythmic structure while remaining focused on rich textures and subtle songrcraft. Seapoint's Installation EP arrives on October 15, the record can be streamed in full after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.6 (59 votes)

Download: The Peronists "Melbourne Cowboys"

First Listen
Label: Terror Negro

A purveyor of adventurous digital cumbia (and its many variant sounds) since 2008, Peruvian label Terror Negro will next issue the six-track Inka Haus EP from The Peronists. Pulled from the record is "Melbourne Cowboys," a percussive track that effortlessly bounces atop an active bassline. Though it is surely Latin-flavored (particularly in its assortment of hand-percussion hits), "Melbourne Cowboys" is really a playful, drum machine-fueled bit of house, one which comes topped off by heavily manipulated vocals and some spacey FX tucked into its outer edges. The Peronists' Inka Haus EP arrives on November 1. 

Average: 6.9 (35 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player