XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 7

Download: Wallwork/RZR & Ltd Colours "B2"

Canadian label Infinite Machine today celebrates its third anniversary with a compilation, gathering new tracks from artists who have helped build the outpost's catalog over as well as a number of friends of the label. Alongside tracks from Liar, Otik, Blâme and others is this collaborative effort from London duo Wallwork & RZR (who recently issued its Mad Techno Invasion EP via the label) and newcomer Ltd Colours. Together, the producers craft a strong-armed bass hybrid where massive kicks are met with chopped breaks, industrial FX, and—when there is enough room—some space-aged chords. The resulting collaborative "B2" track can be downloaded below, while Infinite Machine's full third anniversary compilation can be grabbed as a name-your-price download here.  

Average: 7.8 (56 votes)

Download: E "000"

First Listen
Label: Deep Moves

Freshly launched Berlin label Deep Moves' next release comes from an anonymous producer who has elected to simply go by the name E. One of three original tracks to appear on the forthcoming 00/000/0000 EP (which also features a remix from Parisian producer Shlømo), "000" fits well into Deep Moves' growing catalog. A methodical techno production, the track utilizes small bits of static-laden percussion, but it is still far from an abrasive effort. Above its mechanical rhythms "000" presents a series of lush chords which loosely hang atop the track's chugging four-on-the-floor (which is further fueled by a series of airy snare rolls that freely move around the stereo field). Remaining behind a veil of secrecy, E may not want us to know exactly who he is, but with "000" as our first taste, it seems clear that the anonymous producer knows what he's doing. E's 00/000/0000 EP is out in vinyl form on September 15; in the meantime, the upcoming record can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8 (37 votes)

Download: Sigward "MX86"

Helmed by Trouw resident Nuno Dos Santos, the fledgling Something Happening Somewhere imprint today releases its fourth effort, the Black Mambo EP, from Dutch artist Sigward. Described by the label as an "arpeggiated beast," Sigward's "MX86" serves as the new record's digital bonus track. Beginning from a muted bass sequence, "MX86" builds into a dark and driving affair, one propelled by crisp drum machine rhythms which charge forward as the producer allows his arpeggio lines to come further to life. Out today, Sigward's Black Mambo EP—which includes remixes from Simon Garcia and Scott Fraser—can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.2 (53 votes)

Download: Lunate "Molt"

Label: 100% Silk

Hailing from Bogota, Colombia, Lunate is the latest artist to deliver a cassette for the ever-growing 100% Silk label. Pulled from Lunate's Far Shores outing is "Molt," a woozy piece of funk-laced hardware house. Spanning just over seven minutes, the track glides along with a hypnotic bounce, landing on a set of juicy chords, a restlessly tweaked bassline, and a number of dreamy melodies throughout the course of its run. In addition to offering "Molt" as a free download, the Colombian talent has also elected to offer a new mix, which is available to stream in full after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8 (72 votes)

Download: Diamond Dagger "Red Leather Bop"

For his most recent outing, Dublin-born producer Damien Lynch has decided to set aside his usual alias, Sarsparilla, for a moment in order to turn in a full-length effort under his new Diamond Dagger moniker. Similar to Lynch's other projects, Diamond Dagger's Estate Crudele LP celebrates the tones of vintage synthesizers and classic drum machines, resulting in tracks that lean towards the more nostalgic ends of the dancefloor. Pulled from the record is "Red Leather Bop," a particularly housey number striped with space-born melodies and waves of buzzing synth chords. The tune can be downloaded for free below, while Diamond Dagger's full Estate Crudele LP can currently be grabbed as a name-your-price download over on Bandcamp.  

Average: 6.5 (55 votes)

Download: Frunk29 "Slowdilla (Vakula Remix)"

Label: Fuselab

Today, Russian label Fuselab drops the Slowdilla EP, a four-track effort from Moscow house producer Marat Shainskiy (a.k.a. Frunk29). Closing out the record is this remix from Ukraine's Vakula, who digs deeper into the low-swung, textured house of Shainskiy's original, layering restless acid lines and an unwieldy array of chopped hats and miniature FX around the soulful, swaying beat. Those curious to hear what else the budding Frunk29 has in store on his new Slowdilla EP can preview the record after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.1 (55 votes)

Download: Blâme "Haunted"

First Listen
Label: [Re]sources

French producer Blâme (who also serves as half of the CDBL duo) will debut on the Parisian [Re]sources label next week with the three-track Paranoid EP, a record said to showcase the artist's "flair for techno breaks, acid basslines, and instrumental grime." Pulled from the record is "Haunted," a track whose heavy-handed percussion tones are laced with a dubwise roll, leaving them to chug between thick layers of clouded chord stabs and streaks of acid manipulations. Out on September 1, Blâme's complete Paranoid EP can be streamed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.2 (51 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player