XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 652

Download: U-N-I "Land of the Kings"

Green Label Sound's next release comes from L.A.-based hip-hop duo U-N-I, a pair more preoccupied with live instrumentation than programmed beats. They weren't stingy with the rolling pianos, robust vocal choruses, and live horn section on this track, their first single of 2009. Download the track here or over at the Green Label Sound site

Average: 4.5 (24 votes)

Download: YACHT "Psychic City"

Label: DFA

YACHT will release a new album, See Mystery Lights, via DFA this summer, and has sent this track out to the blogwaves to gear us up for the new release. The "Psychic City" title is in keeping with the new album's message, which, according to the YACHT crew, relates to all things paranormal, existential, cerebral, and just plain weird. Which is what happens when you record an album in the high desert of Texas. See Mystery Lights is out July 28.  

Average: 5.7 (31 votes)

Download: Sepalot "Go Get It Feat. Ladi 6 (LAZRtag Remix)"

Label: Compost

German deck-meister Sepalot may shine brightest in the world of hip-hop, but on Red Handed Remixes Part 2, his tracks prove themselves adaptable to all types of musical styles. The new release features six remixes from the likes of Zed Bias, Eddy Meets Yannah, and others, including this cut from L.A.-based outfit LazRtag. Red Handed Remixes Part 2 is out June 5. 

Average: 6.4 (29 votes)

Download: Trentemøller "Vamp (Live Edit)"

Label: hfn

Trentemøller's latest offering, Harbour Boat Trips, is no album, but rather, a carefully mixed compilation that includes everyone from Two Lone Swordsmen to Grouper, along with a live edit of one of his own tracks. This version of "Vamp" includes a rolling, gurgling bassline, sharp snares, and the ever-present set of clicks and bleeps found in much of the Danish producer's work. Harbour Boat Trips is out now. 

Average: 7.4 (63 votes)

Download: Thunderheist "Nothing 2 Step 2"

Label: Counter

In case you haven't yet heard the sounds of Thunderheist, here's another offering from the Canadian duo. Their '80s-inspired self-titled debut dropped earlier this year and includes the original of this track, which also appears in single format with remixes by Trevor Loveys and Idiotproof. We have the latter for you right here.


Average: 5.4 (34 votes)

Download: Cassettes Won't Listen "Into the Hillside"

Jason Drake (a.k.a. Cassettes Won't Listen), will drop a new album, Into the Hillside, next month, and he's hyping fans up with a freebie version of the title track. Once again, Drake is merging instrumental indie songs with hip-hop rhythms and sending those elements through the laptop for some heavy electronic touches. The album will drop June 16. 

Average: 5.5 (32 votes)

Download: Del the Funky Homosapien "Get it Right Now"

Label: Funny Man

Del the Funky Homosapien released his own version of a stimulus package not long ago, with the completely free Funk Man album, which can be downloaded in full right now. The Hieroglyphics member waxes poetic on the state of the economy and the state of the music business, and here, he has a few tips on how to take control of your life during tumultuous times like these. 

Average: 6.5 (39 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player