XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 7

Download: Femme En Fourrure "Palms Glide Up Thighs (Neana Remix)"

First Listen

Pulled from Finnish outfit Femme En Fourrure's The Beach EP (released earlier this year via the Cocoa imprint), "Palms Glide Up Thighs" has been remixed by UK producer and Night Slugs affiliate Neana. A dark, boundless production in its original form, the track is reshaped here to fit a more club-ready structure, where thick pulsing drums are placed between ghostly chopped vocal layers. The resulting production finds a clever balance between the forceful rhythms Neana favors and the more abstract roots of Femme En Fourrure's original effort. 

Average: 7.9 (81 votes)

Download: Gina Turner "Turn Me Up (Canblaster Large Remix)"

Label: Turn It

Parisian producer/DJ (not to mention former XLR8R podcast contributor) Canblaster has never been known for subtlety—his productions are more likely to cut straight through a dancefloor than they are to delicately enter a mix. Such is his approach to remixing "Turn Me Up," a track from NYC artist Gina Turner. Employing a large array of sharp drum hits, Canblaster crafts a charged dancefloor excursion, one which continuously shifts and evolves throughout its run, adding layers of precise percussion around every corner. This "Large" remix and a dub remix from Canblaster are set to appear alongside Turner's original version of the tune on the "Turn Me Up" digital single, out today via Turner's own Turn It imprint. 

Average: 7.6 (88 votes)

Download: Phon.o "Whi5tleblower (Cubenx Remix)"

First Listen

Earlier this month, Berlin producer Phon.o (pictured above) returned to the Modeselektor-helmed 50 Weapons imprint with Cracking Space Pt. 2, a three-track affair led by "Whi5tleblower," a dense production for which Phon.o premiered a video on XLR8R back in May. Now, the tune—in part dedicated to the ongoing efforts of famed NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden—has received a remix treatment from Cubenx (who delivered one of our Top Downloads of May with his "First Wave Front" track). Here, Cubenx takes "Whi5tleblower" to even darker territory, laying into to a pummeling four-on-the-floor rhythmic base as sheets of gritty pads and molten textures are stretched across the rework's seven-plus-minute run. 

Average: 8.4 (88 votes)

Download: Khotin "Flight Theme"

First Listen
Label: 1080p

Ahead of the release of Hello World, his forthcoming debut for Vancouver's 1080p label, Canadian producer Khotin (full name Dylan Khotin-Foote) has shared blissed-out EP cut "Flight Theme" for free download. The full eight-track effort is described as "light, textural daydream house," and the selection on offer holds true to the descriptor, with gauzy pads diffused over Rhodes keys and lucid, skipping percussion. Due out on July 1 in both digital and cassette formats, the EP follows from Khotin's recent 12" for local Edmonton-based imprint Normals Welcome, and lands among 1080p releases from artists like Auscultation (a.k.a. Golden Donna) and LNRDCROY.  

Average: 8.1 (72 votes)

Download: A-Wax "No One (Elio Stereo's Dupersonic Remix)"

First Listen
Label: Tiefparterre

Released earlier this week, the No One/ Go On EP serves as the proper debut outing from A-Wax, a Portugal-born producer who was raised in Switzerland. Accompanying the budding producer's two original tracks on his new EP are a pair of remixes from Dizzy Womack and Elio Stereo, the latter of which is featured here. Taking on A-Wax's "No One," Atalanta producer Elio Stereo tones down the sci-fi tones of the original, bringing the track down to a more basement-ready level where machine-made sonics meet with rounded bass and dubbed chords. In addition to offering a download of Elio Stereo's remix below, A-Wax's debut EP is also available to preview after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 6.9 (63 votes)

Download: Veez-O "Residuo"

First Listen
Label: CT-HI

Described as the crew's "jazz player," Veez-O's "Residuo" is one of four jazz-tinged beats set to appear on the Contemporary Theories II EP, the second in a series of records issued by Milan's budding CT-HI label/collective. Reported to have been produced by crew member Parker Madicine, "Residuo" is built on lop-sided rhythms which provide a loose, thumping path for Veez-O's soaring synth melodies and dexterous key playing to follow. Out on Monday, June 30, the collective's soul-tinged Contemporary Theories II EP can be streamed in full after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.5 (46 votes)

Download: Afefe Iku "Zero Degrees"

Label: Yoruba

The latest release from house veteran Osunlade's Yoruba label comes from fellow Grecian producer Afefe Iku. On his Order of Direction EP, Iku constructs lattice-like synth structures, which ride atop steady rhythmic beds. One such effort is "Zero Degrees," a five-plus-minute expedition marked by analog arpeggios and rich pads that swell up from the lower depths of the slow-driving production. Out now, Afefe Iku's Order of Direction EP can be streamed in full after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 6.3 (41 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player