XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 619

Download: Exclusive: Ikonika "Phonelines VIP"

Originally intended as the flip-side to Ikonika's Hyperdub debut, Please, this is one hell of a wonky dubstep tune. Bloopy synth arpeggiations, double-time rhythmic structure, and a distanced mix make for a perfect dubstep track; bizarre structural similarities to Glassjaw's "Siberian Kiss" also add to the intrigue. Although well-known to her fans, "Phonelines VIP" has never before been available for purchase; instead, Ikonika has decided to offer up the track for free download exclusively through XLR8R

Average: 7.8 (130 votes)

Download: Codebreaker "Follow Me (The Juan Maclean Remix)"

The Juan Maclean gives Codebreaker's summer hit the remix treatment, transforming an Azoto-like Italo-disco number into a Chicago house track, replete with lovely piano flourishes and stretches of acid squelch. Though a bit darker than the original, the remix maintains a bouncing, clubby vibe that might make Daft Punk blush. 

Average: 7.6 (34 votes)

Download: Hauntologists "A1"

Label: white

Hauntologists is the most recent collaboration of electronic musicians and producers Stefan Schneider (of To Rococo Rot and Belle Orchestre) and Jay Ahern. Taken from their recently released EP2, "A1" displays Hauntologists' penchant for mixing traditional African instruments with more synthesized sounds, resulting in a minimal techno track that is perfect for the post-minimal climate—in a way, the duo's work evokes Villalobos' lo-frequency, mid-tempo mind-melters, but with more discrete melodic content. 

Average: 7.8 (45 votes)

Download: Vladislav Delay "Melankolia (Edit)"

Label: Leaf

Tummaa, the forthcoming album from Finnish composer Sasu Ripatti's Vladislav Delay moniker, opens with the esoteric sounds of "Melankolia". The amorphous song twists and turns from within its clattering, reverberated self — a disjointed piano refrain offering the track's only solace of melody before drifting back into the slow pulse of the composition. 

Average: 6.8 (20 votes)

Download: Kid606 "Monsters (Doshy Remix)"

Label: Tigerbeat6

Doshy, the Berlin-bassed Tigerbass producer, just about one-ups the source material from Kid606's Shout at the Döner track, "Monsters," on Kid's latest Dancehall of the Dead remix EP. Bringing to mind a vintage Switch production, Doshy's remix is a crackling, high-energy jam that vibrates with just about all the wobbly bass one could shake a glow stick at. 

Average: 7.7 (61 votes)

Download: Ras G "Stealth Mode"

Label: Dublab

L.A. space-hop beatmaker Ras G (and his Alkebulan Space Program) blasts off with another piece of chunky, crunky hotness, this time offering a taste off of dublab/Porter Records' Echo Expansion compilation, expected in stores on August 18. Click it while it's hot! 

Average: 7.8 (72 votes)

Download: Major Lazer "Hold the Line (NROTB Remix)"

Label: Downtown

Montreal-based NROTB pounces on this banger from the Major Lazer squad and vamps it up with that disco-y, nu-rave, electro-house kick that everyone has been, well, raving about as of late. 

Average: 7.4 (42 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player