XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 674

Download: Mike Bones "What I Have Left (Brian DeGraw Remix)"

According to songwriter Mike Bones, most of the tracks on his sophomore album, A Fool For Everyone, "exist because of beautiful women and existential despair." It follows then, that the album is a delicately constructed palate of acoustic guitars, string arrangements, and woeful lyrics about lost love. Then Gang Gang Dance's Brian Degraw got ahold of the album's single, "What I Have Left," and gave it the experimental electronic touch his band is well known for. The track, along with additional remixes from Sian Alice Group and Silk Flowers, will be packaged up as a 7" before the full album's February 3 release date. A Fool For Everyone 01 Today The World Is Worthy Of My Loathing 02 One Moment's Peace 03 A Fool For Everyone 04 Like A Politician 05 I'm A Decent Man, I Kept Repeating 06 What I Have Left 07 Much More Than Love 08 Give Up On Guitars 09 Everyone Always Coming Down On Me 

Average: 7.2 (32 votes)

Download: Masta Ace "Sittin' On Chrome (Mr. Flash Sittin on Cr02 RMX)"

Brooklyn's famed rapper Masta Ace meets Ed Banger's Mr. Flash on this remix, another track from Delicious Vinyl's RMXXOLOGY compilation that pairs legendary hip-hop artists with contemporary electronic music producers. Originally released in the 90s, this track, in the capable hands of Flash, has been updated for the dancelfoor. 

Average: 5.1 (26 votes)

Download: Fol Chen "The Believers" (Clifford Lidell Remix)"

Recent Asthmatic Kitty signees Fol Chen will release their debut album on February 17, but the Highland Park, CA-based band are already unveiling bits and pieces of the album. The style of the music on their self-titled release is hard to pinpoint, with tracks including disparate rhythms, wobbly vocals, and chaotic horn sections all in the span of a few seconds, but one thing this number proves is that Fol Chen lends itself well to the remixes. Fol Chen 01 The Believers 02 No Wedding Cake 03 You and Your Sister in Jericho 04 The Idiot 05 Red Skies Over Garden City (The Ballad of Donna Donna) 06 Winter, That's All 07 Cable TV 08 Please, John, You're Killing Me 09 The Longer U Wait (Version) 10 If Tuesday Comes  

Average: 7.8 (35 votes)

Download: Paco Osuna "Mindacid"

Though he's yet to unveil a proper artist album, Paco Osuna has plenty of minimal techno for us to enjoy, including remixes for Richie Hawtin, the Orbeat EP, and tracks like this one. If you can't translate the extensive biography on his MySpace page that's written entirely in Spanish (or if you're too lazy to bother), we've done the biographical legwork for you over in our Artist To Watch feature. 

Average: 7.7 (9 votes)

Download: Salem "When U Sleep"

Label: Merok

Salem recently dropped the Water EP on Merok Records, and the Michigan-based trio had its drum machine close at hand for the release. Irregular rhythms made by numerous percussion sounds dominate the EP, which marks the trio's U.K. debut. Of course it wouldn't be a Salem track without some haunting, incomprehensible vocals and a ghostly string section, both of which the band provides on this track. 

Average: 7.2 (33 votes)

Download: Faunts "Feel.Love.Thinking.Of."

Two albums, a debut U.S. tour, and one remix release later, Faunts are ready to unleash yet-more gorgeous indie rock upon us. The Canadian five-piece outfit will release its latest full-length, Feel.Love.Thinking.Of. on February 17 on its longtime home at Friendly Fire Recordings. As with previous releases, the new album finds the boys mixing gauzy guitars with electronic loops and singing about love. Here's the title track off the album. Feel.Love.Thinking.Of. 01 Feel.Love.Thinking.Of. 02 Input 03 It Hurts Me all the Time 04 Out on a Limb 05 Lights are Always On 06 Das Malefitz 07 I Think I'll Start a Fire 08 Alarmed/Lights 09 So Far Away 10 Explain 

Average: 7.2 (30 votes)

Download: Wavves "So Bored"

Label: De Stijl

Nathan Daniel Williams sings about being bored so emphatically here that we're inclined to believe the 22-year-old musician behind Wavves is experiencing one hell of a trip through inertia. And there are plenty more of his static-drenched, DIY beach-punk songs to be had. "So Bored" arrives fresh off Williams' second album, a self-titled one, save for the extra "v" in the title (which is apparently intentional), which will be released on February 3 of next year. Bloggers and sites are watching Williams closely, so next year should keep him well away from the boredom he laments over here. Wavvves 01 Rainbow Everywhere 02 Sun Opens My Eyes 03 Get in the Sun 04 Jetplane (Staying on A ) 05 No Hope Kids 06 More Fur 07 So Bored 08 Summer Goth 09 Surf Goth 10 Goth Girls 11 Ghost Ramp 12 Killr Punx 13 Scary Demons 


Average: 4.8 (22 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player