XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 684

Download: Pole "Alles Klar"

Label: ~scape

Electronic pioneers Stefan Betke and Barbara Preisinger founded ~scape in 1999, and over the years have released records from the likes of Jan Jelenik, John Tejada, and others. For just about as long, Betke has also been recording and releasing music as Pole. As the story goes, Betke decided on the name after dropping a Waldorf 4-Pole filter and proceeding to make music with the newly fractured hardware. "Alles Klar" comes from Round Black Ghosts, a recent compilation on ~scape that takes a peculiar spin on the ever-shifting dubstep genre. 

Average: 7.5 (44 votes)

Download: Matty G "West Coast Rocks (The Glitch Mob Remix)"

Label: Glitch Mob

Here comes another remix courtesy of

Average: 8 (174 votes)

Download: Ise Lyfe "Bad Word Bounce"

Label: 7even89ine

Oakland-based MC and activist Ise Lyfe cites Langston Hughes as an inspiration and raps about equally intellectual subject matters in his work. The first single off his Prince Cometh album, "Bad Word Bounce" finds him making a play on Snoop Dogg and Pharell's "Drop it Like it's Hot," imitating the minimal beats and soft rhymes, but replacing lyrics about Chandon and Rolexes with issues ranging from the media to the objectification of women. For the album, he enlisted Bay Area producer Nick James to handle production duties. 

Average: 7.5 (32 votes)

Download: Lexie Mountain Boys "Sweet Potato Sugar Tot"

Label: Carpark

Five women make up the Baltimore-based outfit

Average: 3.3 (27 votes)

Download: Karl Hector & The Malcouns "Sahara Swing"

Label: Now-Again

Sahara Swing is currently being touted as an album of Afro-flavored funk, but the term doesn't really sum up the musical content of the release. Working with Poets of Rhythm producer Jay Whitefield, Karl Hector has crafted an album that's as much James Brown as it is Fela Kuti, as evidenced by swinging guitars, slinky basslines, and scattered snares on the title track. Hector has, to date, only appeared on one 7", but this album, release via Stones Throw affiliate Now-Again, should ensure his persona brought to life in full. 

Average: 7.7 (27 votes)

Download: He Can Jog "Agnes (After Woodland Pattern)"

The cover of this disc–a girl clad in white standing in a bleak, wintery woodland–hints at the contents of this release, the latest from Midwest-born producer Erik Schoster. Combining dreamy pop music with experimental electronics (not to mention an arsenal of bells, harps, acoustic guitars, laptop-processed bleeps, and static), he has created an album that would please both laptop scientists and kids wanting something pretty to listen to while driving a car. And yes, the album is named after the George Eliot novel. 

Average: 7.6 (29 votes)

Download: Palac "Kind Things Sing"

Label: Palacmusic

Journalists and critics love to pontificate about "new media" and the phenomenon of "media convergence" and more often than not the discussions devolve in semantic arguments or grandiose visions of a future that never quite seems to be now. Well, beneath the chattering of people who love to hear themselves speak are the sounds of people who are pushing the limits of digital technology and making that grandiose future exist right now. Take digital-renaissance-man Peter Prautzsch as a shining example; the music he makes as Palac nary enters in the material world. From his field recording sources and electronic compositions to WAV/MP3 only releases, his Palac tracks float instantly from person to person without ever touching anyone's hands. Take a quick look around his website and you'll find his video and design work, as well a link to Frozen Elephants, the "Creative Commons Netlabel" he co-runs to release electronic music for free. Of course, it wouldn't matter that much if his oeuvre weren't so deeply in tune with a warm, material world that the work itself never exists in. Wyatt Williams 

Average: 7.7 (36 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player