XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 688

Download: Bronx River Parkway "La Valla"

Latin soul's back, and it's courtesy of New York-based collective Bronx River Parkway. The multi-member group that boasts no less than four vocalists is set to release San Sebastian 152 through Truth & Soul, and the album marks the band's first release since a lone single in 2005. "La Valla" opens with a bubbling bassline that's joined by pianos, horns, raps, and more, all of which slink and groove through three-plus minutes and beckon the listener to get up and dance. 


Average: 7.5 (24 votes)

Download: Tokyo Police Club "The Baskervilles (AmpLive Remix feat. Aesop Rock and Yak Ballz)"

Saddle Creek bands


Average: 8.2 (54 votes)

Download: Future Rapper et al. "C2 H5 Oh Baby, I Love Your Wayst"

Warhol Buck$ just took over the Asthmatic Kitty office again (the first time was last year), and the label staff is none too pleased about the fact that he's introducing the pay-what-Warhol-Buck$-wants model for his upcoming Land of a Thousand Rappers Vol. 2. In a recent press release, Buck$ explained, "I was intrigued by recent attempts in the industry to provide the illusion of choice with regards to the cost of a record. I decided to improve the model by removing the illusion. And the choice." Read what you will between the lines up there. The important thing to note is that Buck$ is actually a fictional character created for the Land of a Thousand Rappers series, supposedly in order to satirize hip-hop culture. He's joined by his equally fictional possé on this track, and if you think all of this is a bit bizarre, hit download now and listen to the track. 


Average: 7.5 (34 votes)

Download: Frank Omura "Juggernaut Audition"

Label: Moodgadget

IDM's sonic palette has expanded since the genre was born in the early '90s, so that it's no longer reserved for dark, faceless albums on labels like Warp and Rephlex, but also encompasses gauzy guitars, hip-hop beats, and releases with names like The Unshaven Face EP (well we think it's kind of a funny name). Producer Zach Saginaw made the latter under his Frank Omura guise, and there's a lot in this particular track–from the sweeping string arrangements to the unpredictable tempo–that harkens to the emotional side of dance music. This one was up for grabs courtesy of Moodgadget, a label that appears to be further broadening the scope of IDM with tracks like this. 

Average: 7.8 (135 votes)

Download: Tobacco "Truck Sweat"

Label: anticon.

Black Moth Super Rainbow doesn't always make music you'd necessarily call uplifting, but Tobacco, the leader of this Pittsburgh-based five-piece, has delved into even darker territory on his debut solo album. The sinister quality of Fucked Up Friends isn't achieved lyrically though, seeing as vocals are sparse, and when they do appear, they're tweaked and twisted to levels beyond actual understanding. Rather, Tobacco relies on persistent analog noise that needles and synth hooks that hypnotize, so that the overall effect is akin to walking through some bizarre enchanted world where you never know who or what you might meet at the next corner. Spooky! 

Average: 7.7 (138 votes)

Download: Vyle "Drop Down (So Chi. 1995 Mix)"

Label: Unreleased

Vyle will describe his own work as "sort of like an American stuck in a coin-operated Pachinko Hall in Tokyo." Which is to say, he pulls from a fairly diverse range of genres when making music, arranging layers of hip-hop, pop, Miami bass, and ghetto-house alongside one another. For this track, the Chicago-based rapper and producer went crazy with the synths and laptop-generated noise for the So Chi 1995 Mix, which didn't initially sound like a good combo to pair with rap verses. But we gave it a listen and now it's on full-blast at the XLR8R office. 


Average: 7.6 (31 votes)

Download: Chairlift "Evident Utensil"

Label: Kanine

Fine arts, film, jazz, and faux gothic architecture inform the work of Chairlift on its forthcoming debut full-length, Does You Inspire You. Oh, and the '80s. The three-piece Brooklyn-based outfit pays homage to that particular decade with high-pitched synth melodies and poppy vocals that don't sound as though they were made by a group of unassuming kids originally from Colorado. They're currently hashing tunes off the album out in the live setting, on a tour with weirdo-rock master Ariel Pink. Does You Inspire You will be available on October 28.  


Average: 6.4 (22 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player