XLR8R - logo


Download: Tallesen "Court Sight"

First Listen
Label: Software

Set to arrive early next month, the debut LP from East Coast producer Cayman Johnson (a.k.a. Tallesen) will offer 12 original productions along with a handful of bonus cuts, including "Court Sight," which has been offered for download here. Built on the back of a series of somewhat lopsided rhythms, "Court Sight" eventually culminates into a cluster of washy synths, with no lead emerging, but rather a bubbling soundscape culminating from Johnson's combination of sci-fi tones. The rest of Tallesen's Stills Lit Through LP will see its release on October 6 via Brooklyn's Software label.  

Average: 8.5 (9 votes)

Download: Antenna Happy "Spark (Slumber Session Edit)"

First Listen

Next week, Brighton-based producer Antenna Happy's Pinto EP will inaugurate Reinhardt, a new imprint based in Los Angeles. Ahead of its release, Antenna Happy has sent over this "Slumber Session Edit" of the record's closing cut, "Spark." Originally made to fit within the producer's Slumber Session mix for i-D, the edit strips the original track's drum programming away, revealing a dense array of thick synth tones, many of which—in the absence of outright percussion—fully reveal their rhythmic qualities, helping to push the composition forward throughout its six-plus-minute run. While Antenna Happy's "Spark (Slumber Session Edit)" can be downloaded below, the man's full Pinto EP is set to see a release on September 22. 

Average: 7.5 (14 votes)

Download: kidkanevil "Thousand Year Forest (One for Yosi)"

First Listen

Last year, Japanese producer Yosi Horikawa dropped Vapor; serving as his debut full-length, the 16-track album stitched together remarkably detailed sound design and adventurous beatwork. Now, the First Word label is preparing to drop Vapor Remixed 1, the (presumably) first in a series of remix EPs which gathers reworks from Daisuke Tanabe, Fulgeance, and kidkanevil. Also included in the package is "Thousand Year Forest (One for Yosi)," a kidkanevil original made with Horikawa's style in mind. "Daisuke Tanabe and I took a field recording trip to Mount Fuji," kidkanevil explains, "and came across a really beautiful and strange forest nearby... this beat was made from those recordings." Furthermore, the producer explains that he felt "quite inspired by [Horikawa's] use of field recording, the directness and detail and the way it's utilized in his production," and so made this track as a tribute to his craft. The resulting production, "Thousand Year Forest," can be downloaded below while Vapor Remixed 1 is set to land on September 22. 

Average: 7.5 (23 votes)

Download: Cherushii "No Doubt in My Mind"

First Listen

Cherushii is the handle of San Francisco producer Chelsea Faith, a budding talent whose taste for jacking house rhythms and hardware constructions landed her an EP on 100% Silk late last year. Now, with a string of West Coast tour dates ahead of her (alongside fellow Silk affiliate Golden Donna), Faith has dropped off "No Doubt in My Mind," a soul-streaked expedition indebted to the Chicago house tradition, and one which finds ample room to unroll a number of gliding synth leads and R&B vocal chops across its eight-minute run. "No Doubt in My Mind" can be downloaded in full below (the track is also set to appear on a forthcoming, as-yet-untitled EP), while Cherushii's upcoming West Coast tour dates can be peeped after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8 (33 votes)

Download: Leaks "Underthought"

First Listen

As Leaks, young Melbourne producer/vocalist Thomas Guida melds the influence of groups like Mount Kimbie and Maribou State with his own subdued take on soulful pop. "Underthought" is Guida's latest effort, the lead single to an as-yet-untitled EP set to drop via the Zero Through Nine imprint in November. Here, the artist begins by laying reticent vocals atop a a series of liquid tones and sparse, but jittery rhythms. It is after Guida's vocals fade away though that his talent as a beatmaker truly shine through, as "Underthought" pieces together an infectious melody of re-pitched vocals which bounce atop the track's lopsided skip.  

Average: 8.5 (38 votes)

Download: Nuances "A Nod Was the First Step"

First Listen
Label: WotNot

Curated by UK artist Manni Dee, the forthcoming Life Between Screens compilation aims to "encourage listeners to engage with music on a visceral level, liberating sound from its potentially functional shackles." To do so, the collection has gathered compositions from WANDA GROUP, Deft, Lotide, BNJMN, Shelley Parker, and others for its 11-track offering, which will be accompanied by a six-track cassette full of bonus efforts. One such production is "A Nod Was the First Step," which sees the comp's curator himself operating under his Nuances alias as he takes listeners on an elongated journey through crunchy ambience and gloomy, distant sonics. Both the Life Between Screens compilation and its accompanying cassette release will drop on September 22 via the WotNot label. 

Average: 8.1 (16 votes)

Download: Michael Walsh "Before When It Was New (Maheras Remix)"

First Listen
Label: Plastic Love

The fledgling label arm of Los Angeles event series Plastic Love will drop its second release next month in the form of a four-track EP from fellow LA resident Michael Walsh. Set to appear on the producer's upcoming Before When It Was New effort are two original tracks by Walsh, which will be joined by a remix from Aus cohort October as well as the rework featured here from Plastic Love co-founder Maheras. A track content to move in a number of directions in its original form, Maheras adds a bit of a jacking bounce to "Before When It Was New," on top of which he unfolds bits of hand drums, layers of airy percussion, and a number of the original track's cybernetic melodies, chopped and rearranged into new patterns. Walsh's Before When It Was New EP—his debut under his given name—will see its official release on October 6. 

Average: 8.1 (44 votes)


Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player