XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 9

Download: Gillepsy "Log Out"

Label: Hyperboloid

Before his second EP for Russian imprint Hyperboloid drops on March 24, Moscow producer Gillepsy has shared 2014: Online Odyssey's closing track. The simultaneously nostalgic and futuristic "Log Out" stays just shy of gimmicky with the use of what sounds like exaggerated FX from outer space, sounds which are paired with an elastic bassline and more intricate percussive rhythms. Keeping with his record's tongue-in-cheek approach, the artist adds some finishing touches to his EP closer with typing computer keys and Window's quintessential logoff jingle. The teaser for Gillepsy's forthcoming 2014: Online Odyssey EP is included after the jump. Read more » 

Average: 8.3 (67 votes)

Download: Pol Style, Vin Sol, and Matrixxman "MZJACKIE"

West Coast producers Vin Sol and Matrixxman have always been keen to collaborate with one another—just yesterday, the two announced their forthcoming release of a collaborative Sade remix 12"—but for their latest turn on DJ Haus' Unknown to the Unknown label, the pair has linked up with a new collaborator in Japanese transplant and Numbers affiliate Pol Style. Closing out the trio's Angry Frogz EP is "MZJACKIE," a tune made entirely out of jacking rhythms, tuned toms, and the occasional blast of FX, making for a cut which perfectly embodies the fun, floor-focused vibes marking nearly all of UTTU's releases. The collaborative EP is out digitally now, with a vinyl release arriving next week, and for those curious to hear more, the record can be streamed in its entirety after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 6.8 (29 votes)

Download: Timo Maas "Grown Up (Addison Groove Remix)"

First Listen

As veteran producer Timo Maas (pictured above) continues to build up his Rockets & Ponies imprint with an upcoming remix package for last year's Lifer LP, we're treated to Addison Groove's take on "Grown Up." The Bristolian DJ/producer takes full control of the original production, throwing in extremely short vocal snippets and his usual breakneck, juke-fueled tempo to the mix. "Grown Up (Addison Groove Remix)" closes out as powerfully as it comes in, with the metallic click of a loading gun. Catch the rest of Maas' Lifer Concluded EP—featuring remixes from the likes of Maetrik (a.k.a. Maceo Plex), Livio & Roby, and Fur Coat—when it drops on March 24. 

Average: 7.2 (68 votes)

Download: Chainless "Ancient Ruins"

First Listen
Label: Cohort

Nascent London label Cohort is kicking off its discography with the dark-palleted Grey Veils EP, the imprint's inaugural release by Libson-based producer Chainless. According to a press release, the aptly named producer aims to not be "bonded up to anything, not being bonded to a face or to a music genre." And he succeeds with mysterious EP cut "Ancient Ruins"; the shadowy piece features an arrangement of percussion and choppy, ritualistic vocal bits which are held together with intense synth tones. The rest of Chainless' disquieting Grey Veils EP will appear on March 31, and can be previewed ahead of its arrival, after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.4 (96 votes)

Download: Gidge "You"

First Listen

In the midst of prepping its debut album for Applescal's Atomnation label, Swedish duo Gidge has offered the elongated "You" as a taste of what's to come on its forthcoming full-length. Spanning just over eight minutes, the production is essentially broken up in two separate parts—the first focusing on a deep percussion pattern and sequences of light melodies, while the tune's latter half expands into more heavenly territory, where glistening pads and high-pitched vocals are anchored by massive bass and a heavy-handed four-on-the-floor. An ambitious composition, "You" is an impressively enticing first taste of what Gidge may be capable of on the debut LP the pair is expected to drop later this year.  

Average: 8.4 (144 votes)

Download: Equals "Pyre (Screens Remix)"

First Listen
Label: Senseless

Having worked with artists such as Amy Winehouse, Mark Ronson, Basement Jaxx, Kindness and Quincy Jones, vocalist Ade Omotayo is no newcomer to the music industry. His latest project is with Ruckspin collaborator James Low, and the two artists are preparing to drop their debut collaborative release as Equals. Called Single Soul, the duo's EP will feature remixes from the likes of xxxy and two-piece London outfit Screens, whose remix of lead single "Pyre" is featured here. Screens' dancefloor-friendly take on the original production boasts a range of vibrant synths alongside snippets of Omotayo's fervent verses, making for a euphoric house piece with a fast, playful rhythm and buoyant bassline. The rest of Equals' Single Soul EP will drop on March 24 via Senseless. 

Average: 7.5 (54 votes)

Download: Magical Mistakes "Laid Out"

First Listen
Label: King Deluxe

Originally from California and now based in Osaka, Japan, Magical Mistakes will become the latest beat constructor to join King Deluxe's ever-growing artist roster when his Decompose / Reassemble EP drops in the coming months. In the meantime, Magical Mistakes has plans to make his way stateside—along with fellow Japanese artists Seiho and And Vice Versa—for a brief tour which will touch down in eight US cities. To help spread the word, Magical Mistakes has passed along EP opener "Laid Out," a bell-bathed, slow-swung cut that seems to pull inspiration from the lineage of contemplative beats crafted by the likes of Shlohmo and Mount Kimbie. After giving "Laid Out" a spin below, the full dates and details of Magical Mistakes' upcoming US tour can be found here.  

Average: 8.5 (90 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player