XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 577

Download: Danton Eeprom "Thanks for Nothing (Etienne Jaumet Remix)"

Usually more minimal in his approach, the opening track from Danton Eeprom's latest album sounds like it could have come from a mid-80's Bowie-produced Iggy Pop track. Etienne Jaumet's remix of "Thanks for Nothing" transforms the track with his signature analog synth approach while maintaining the original's catchy melodic core. The washed, echoing vocals of the original are also left intact for the most part, with a lovely loop riding over the piece's plodding beat towards its end. Moments of squelch and overdrive make for some great peaks and valleys, giving the feeling that Jaumet has out-housed Eeprom himself, which is a pretty amazing feat. 

Average: 7.8 (35 votes)

Download: Arsenal "Estupendo (Gui Boratto Remix)"

Label: Playout

Judging from their latest single, Belgium's Arsenal might have drunk too much of MGMT's sweet liqueur, but Gui Boratto does a great re-working of "Estupendo," taking the original synth stems and transforming them into a darker, more stabbing melody. With the breathy vocals (courtesy of Scott Mason from Offrice) left intact along with some melancholy guitar lines, Boratto's "Estupendo" is a deep, dancefloor jam that would work well in any DJ's tech-house set.  

Average: 7 (22 votes)

Download: Krazy Baldhead "The 4th Movement (The Glitch Mob Remix)"

Label: Ed Banger

The Glitch Mob's remix for French electro-house fiend Krazy Baldhead may start out sounding something like AC/DC's "Hells Bells," but through the rest of its epic length, the track is purely their own. Loads of booming percussion and hard-hitting glitch-hop beats, an arsenal of extraneous sound effects, plenty of buzzing synth tones, and trajectory changes every minute or so keep your ears' attentions piqued until the song eventually fades away. The LA-based trio's remix doesn't exactly culminate into something great, but it's nine-minute runtime indicates this track is about the journey—and not the destination. The Glitch Mob is now on a massive North American tour. Check out the details here

Average: 7.7 (51 votes)

Download: MED "Sure Shot"

Here's another bit of unconventional hip-hop from Oxnard, which has somehow become Southern California's beatmaker hotbed. Produced by Oh No, MED's latest for Stones Throw is full of the expected drum breaks and organ stab samples, but with heaps of wonky synths and spacey sonics thrown on top. We couldn't tell you exactly what MED is flowing over the head-nodding beat, but we'd wager to say it has something to do with him being awesome. If so, he's not wrong. 

Average: 6.4 (16 votes)

Download: Cold Cave "Life Magazine (An Optimo (Espacio) Mix)"

Label: Matador

Philadelphia coldwave patrons Cold Cave released Love Comes Close last year, but they're just now getting around to releasing a proper 12" single for "Life Magazine." The track is treated to remixes from the likes of Pantha du Prince, Arthur Baker, and, here, Optimo. Fresh off the finale of their long-running weekly Sunday-night party, the Glaswegian duo's intent is clear from the onset; JD Twitch and JG Wilkes are gonna make you move. Their mission is accomplished with much aplomb through hijacking the vocal from its original synth-pop resting place, and placing it in the middle of an energetic space-disco workout. Optimo also has an entry in the venerated Fabric mix series the comes out next week, and the "Life Magazine" 12" drops on June 8. 

Average: 7 (14 votes)

Download: Laura Escudé "Pororoca"

Composer, sound designer, and certified Ableton Live educator Laura Escudé certainly has the electronic music street cred necessary to back her forthcoming debut album, Pororoca. The title track of her new record is chock full of smooth strings, delayed synths, and ominous choir vocals, all of which combine to make up the bulk of her moody piece. In fact, a beat doesn't make its way into the song until two minutes in, and disappears in half the time—reminding us of an era when electronic music was more centered around melody than rhythm. 

Average: 7.7 (25 votes)

Download: Bnjmin "Arose"


Since 2006, the Jus Like Music site has been championing sonic gems from the worlds of hip-hop, neo-soul, jazz, dubstep, funk, and more, but earlier this year, these bloggers decided to take their advocacy to another level and launch their own online record label. After releasing the debut single from Londoner BUG, the young label's catalog was bolstered significantly with Oscillations, a two-part compilation featuring contributions from Slugabed, Alex B, Om Unit, and a bunch of other newcomers who could be lumped beneath the ever-expanding "beat scene" umbrella. One of those newcomers was Bnjmin, a young UK producer who also records under the more widely known Jackhigh and Singing Statues monikers. His song "Arose" was originally slated to appear on Oscillations, yet time constraints forced it from the final tracklist, so Jus Like Music has passed it along to share as an XLR8R exclusive. If you like its washy tones and subdued vibe, then you'll probably want to go ahead and grab Oscillations online, as both parts are available for free download

Average: 7.8 (34 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player