XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 694

Download: DJ KO "Someday"

To follow-up his highly praised EP, Perception is Everything, New Jersey-based DJ KO gathered a selection of up-and-coming hip-hop artists and paired them with some of the genre's heavyweights, then sent them to the production boards and microphones. Picture This... features everyone from Talib Kweli, Black Milk, and 9th Wonder to Royce da 5'9, Skyzoo, Phonte of Little Brother, and Slum Village's Elzhi, making for a veritable sampling of the old guard and new faces. Photo by Soul Shot Photography. 


Average: 7.8 (225 votes)

Download: Esau Mwamwaya, M.I.A., Santogold, and Radioclit "Get It Up"

A couple weeks ago, everyone

Average: 7.7 (47 votes)

Download: The Kills "Cheap And Cheerful (SebastiAn Remix)"

Label: Domino

London-based post-punk band The Kills


Average: 7.8 (147 votes)

Download: Sao Paulo Underground "Cosmogonia"

Label: Aesthetics

Unlike many bands who name their bands after cities they haven't spent much time in, Sao Paulo Underground actually formed in the Brazilian city and keeps strong ties to it. Chicago post-rocker Rob Mazurek travelled to the metropolis several years ago, where he met Mauricio Takara. From there the two enlisted other members for the group, released their debut album, Sauna: Um, Doise, Tres, in 2006, and have been steadily on the rise ever since. Given that three of the bandmembers specialize in percussion, it's no surprise that The Principle of Intrusive Relationships, the group's second full-length, is rhythm-centric and highly focused around the possibilities of the drum set. Half samba rock, half free-jazz, this one puts most percussionists to shame. 


Average: 7 (11 votes)

Download: Akiko "Ant"

What would we do without art during times of struggle? Well we wouldn't have the music of Akiko Kiyama, for one thing, who reportedly pulled herself out of a severe emotional slump by learning and writing techno tracks back in 2001. Fast forward to 2008 and we find the Berlin-based, classically trained producer licensing tracks to Richie Hawtin, performing around the world, and, now, releasing her debut solo album, Seven Years. A collection of club bangers, wild percussion moments, Japanese string arrangements, and plenty of melody, the album also marks the first release for the District of Corruption imprint. Expect much more from this lady in the coming months. 

Average: 7.7 (18 votes)

Download: dan le sac vs. Scroobius Pip "Look For The Woman"

In much the same vein as


Average: 7.6 (36 votes)

Download: Rafter "Juicy"

Rafter Robert's Sweaty Magic EP began long before he decided to lay some tracks onto an actual disk. Some time back, he hooked up with photographer Lizeth Santos, who was up for the task of completing one art project a day so long as Roberts made one song a day, entirely from scratch. A number of these tracks were published, along with their corresponding artwork, last year on the AK website, and now Rafter has taken several of them to use for the EP. "Juicy" is, like much of Roberts' music, a genre-defying affair that features accessible acoustic guitar melodies and bizarre electronic noises over a helping of falsetto vocals. 


Average: 7.7 (27 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player