XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 3

Download: Cignol "Sys486"

Label: Seagrave

After appearing in XLR8R's Downloads section early last month while operating under his Dr. Nol alias, Dublin producer Cignol has returned with a new record in hand, the Tidal Sheer EP. Serving as the second effort from fledgling UK label Seagrave, the cassette/digital release offers four synth-streaked productions including the electro-indebted "Sys486." Again finding Cignol carefully tweaking out an arsenal of thick synthesizer tones, "Sys486" appears on a moodier tip than the last outing we heard from the Irish producer, with dark chords and pensive melodies spread across the track's skittering 808 beat. 

Average: 8 (53 votes)

Download: Terrell "Werk That"

London transplant Terrell first appeared on our radar earlier this year, when the producer dropped an EP's worth of raw, atmospheric tracks via the First Second label. While Terrell has been relatively quiet on the release front since then, the UK artist recently surfaced with the soul-strewn house of "Werk That," a production first offered for free via the budding talent's SoundCloud. Spanning just under six minutes, "Werk That" is a lively bit of house, one-fueled by chopped Rhodes chords and hypnotic vocal snippets which bounce around the tune's sharp hats and active layers of percussion. Not to be overlooked, the track's occasional whistle blow is a nice touch too.  

Average: 7.8 (73 votes)

Download: No Sinner "Rise Up (Sabota Remix)"

First Listen

Sabota—the collaborative project between Canadian producers Max Ulis and Robbie Slade (both pictured above)—first appeared on our radar earlier this year when the pair issued its debut full-length via the Hybridity imprint back in February (the pair also offered up album cut "Jeans" ahead of the release). While the duo is set to return with a new EP for the Mina label in 2015, Sabota has in the meantime passed along its remix of Vancouver singer No Sinner. A bluesy effort in its original form, "Rise Up," is stripped down to just its smoky vocals on this rework, where No Sinner's voice is repitched and sculpted to fit within Sabota's atmospheric house production.  

Average: 8.4 (78 votes)

Download: Nas1 "Layer A3"

First Listen

Bologna producer Nas1 will be the next artist to release via Bosconi ExtraVirgin, a sub-label of Italy's Bosconi imprint. Set to offer five original dusty, loose-swung productions—alongside a remix from Gifted & Blessed—Nas1's Super Quarter EP is slated to drop on October 30. Ahead of its release, the artist has passed along bonus cut "Layer A3," an understated effort that perfectly captures Nas1's adventurous, soul-burnt production style. This one even finds the Bologna resident exercising a bit of patience, as he waits until past the four-minute mark to speed up the tune's percussion, only to tease the track out seconds later. Nas1's "Layer A3" bonus track can be grabbed below, while his forthcoming Super Quarter EP can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.4 (62 votes)

Download: Pixelord "Oasis (Recue Remix)"

First Listen

In its original form, Pixelord's "Oasis" production leads off the Russian producer's recent Polygon Fane EP for Infinite Machine with a bit of back-and-forth, the tune switching off from being led by sprightly melodies to sections which dip down benath low-knocking sub-bass. On his remix, budding Finnish talent Recue fuses together the track's alternating parts, resulting in a rework that is slightly more brooding as it adds new layers of rattling percussion and laser-sharp synths which appear just slightly burnt at their edges. Ending with a barrage of stumbling drum patterns which become absorbed by a swell of buzzing chords, Recue's rework is a markedly more dramatic affair than Pixelord's own version of "Oasis," but also one which puts a welcome new spin on the former XLR8R podcast contributor's track. 

Average: 8.4 (58 votes)

Download: Djedjotronic "Traffic"

Label: Boysnoize

Back in August, Djedjotronic issued his Drum Program EP via the Boysnoize label, and now the seasoned DJ/producer is set to return to the imprint with Interstate 101, a "21-track salute to electro music." Incorporating a number of his own productions as well as those from The Hacker, Atom TM, Maelstrom, and others, the forthcoming mix album is said to represent—according to Djedjotronic himself—"a road trip through wild electronic territories with a detour into the techno mountains." Of the tracks included is the Berlin producer's own "Traffic," a full-bodied electro track which charges with a pulsing bassline that jumps just out ahead of the production's snapping drums and regular waves of space-age synth swells. Out on October 27 (in both mixed and unmixed form), Interstate 101 can be previewed after the jump, where we've also included the compilation's complete tracklist.  Read more » 

Average: 8.5 (44 votes)

Download: Lost Twin "Snake Snake"

First Listen

From the sound of "Snake Snake," Spanish beatmaker Lost Twin is taking no prisoners on The Mist, his upcoming LP for the fledgling Squaring the Circle imprint. An effort that seems to come together as quickly as it is gone, the two-plus-minute production is built solid, its clutch of disparate samples—repitched harp strums, foggy vocals, and a never-ending cycle of electronic bubbles can be heard throughout—gelling together atop the track's loose-knocking kicks and snares. Further enhanced by a slippery bassline and ever-increasing synth layers, "Snake Snake" serves an an intriguing preview to The Mist, which will land in vinyl form on November 3, with a digital release slated to follow a week after. In the meantime, "Snake Snake" can be grabbed below while the rest of Lost Twin's upcoming album can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.3 (40 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player