XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 437

Download: Magic Panda "Dream Theory"

Label: Maripoza

According to the press release for the new two-song release by Norwich producer Magic Panda, The Glass Mountains EP (pictured above), his dreamy electronic music has been seven years in the making, only crystalizing into its finished state around January 2010 when he decided to take it out of the studio and onto the stage. That being said, we can excuse 29-year-old Jamie Robson's 'Panda' moniker, and also the sonic similarities he shares with another UK-based Panda on the bubbly "Dream Theory." The bounty of slightly tweaked sounds that make up the melodic portion of Magic Panda's upbeat track float and flitter throughout the ambient soundscape he's crafted here, and are all driven by a quick-pulsing dance rhythm from start to finish. Like we said before, there are certainly elements reminiscent of Gold Panda on "Dream Theory," but Robson brings a somewhat more organic, almost playful approach to the ambient techno sound, which helps set him apart. 

Average: 8.2 (55 votes)

Download: Mountains "Thousand Square"

The long-standing duo of Brendon Anderegg and Koen Holtkamp, collectively known as Mountains, has a new LP, Air Museum (artwork above), on its way and has passed along this track as a preview of the forthcoming full-length. "Thousand Square" finds the duo exploring the familiar territory of sparkling ambiance with a host of intricate synth tones and manipulated field recordings. Beginning simply with a pulsating note, the pair carefully introduces new elements that serve to expand the track's humble beginnings into ever-growing sonic depths. Where less-seasoned creators of meandering soundscapes might overload the listener, Anderegg and Holtkamp seem to be able to delicately pile sound source upon sound source without disturbing the calming balance a track like "Thousand Square" evokes in its listeners. Surely Mountains will have many more similarly enriched aural landscapes for us to explore when Air Museum is released May 10. 

Average: 6.2 (24 votes)

Download: Cardopusher "Coppertoned Punch (Ghosts on Tape Remix)"

San Francisco's Ghosts On Tape propels this track from Venezuelan-born, Barcelona-based producer Cardopusher (pictured above) to the far reaches of its dark and futuristic house limits. Whereas the original could be described as a slice of forward-thinking, tropical-tinged house, Ghosts on Tape presents "Coppertoned Punch" as an intense hybrid, combining the pitch-shifted vocal snippets and skittering percussion of UK funky with the pounding rhythms and pulsating stabs of aggressively sleek underground techno. Systematically manipulating almost every element present, the remixer keeps things moving with some tasty breakdowns and the occasional tuned bass-drum hits, ensuring that even the meekest listeners will be unable to resist the urge to move. This remix and the original "Coppertoned Punch" are available along with another Cardopusher original and two remixes on the forthcoming Coppertoned Punch EP, which will serve as a preview of sorts to Cardopusher's forthcoming full-length, Yr Fifteen Minutes Are Up, out May 17. 

Average: 7.9 (40 votes)

Download: Sun Glitters "outside (reprise)"

Not wishing to diverge from the customary chillwave aesthetic, Victor Ferreira has chosen to use the moniker Sun Glitters to adorn the, well, glittering, sun-soaked productions he's been releasing lately. Here we've got a one-off track that the Luxembourg-based artist has thrown up on his Bandcamp for free download, "outside (reprise)." The track is a heavenly trot of sorts, one in which gorgeous melodic pads are accompanied by a broken march of a drumbeat. What sounds like solitary notes on a somehow sweetly distorted guitar and a drastically pitch-shifted vocal sample repeating "outside" provide the decorative high-end catchiness that one would expect from a post-everything-era chillwave beat. Although it's not our favorite outing from Ferreira, that honor goes to the excellent "too much to loose" from his recently released everything could be fine LP, it's still a worthwhile listen from a promising producer nonetheless. 

Average: 8.2 (46 votes)

Download: Felix Uran "Masprojekt (To The Stars)"

As more and more music continues to pour in from Dramatic Records' Endless House archives, it seems the project is bent on completely embodying its title. We can't say we're mad about it, especially when the quality of sounds remains at the same caliber of previously featured tracks "Pavel" and "Soul Flipper PART 2", which is exactly what Felix Uran's "Masprojekt (To The Stars)" does. This "sister track" to Uran's similarly titled contribution to the Endless House LP, "Masprojekt 3," is another gorgeous collection of analog electronic sounds that ebb and flow, twist and turn throughout the sparkling composition. But that's not all the Dramatic Records camp has to offer: Coming this June is another companion to the Endless House compilation, a six-song split 12" that features three new tracks from both Rasmus Folk and Walter Schnaffs. Called Endless House Presents: Rasmus Folk vs. Walter Schnaffs, the forthcoming release is said to tell "the story of the rivalry between the House's most esteemed residents." With new side-plots now developing, it's quite possible that the musical tales of the Endless House Foundation will truly never end. 

Average: 7.3 (29 votes)

Download: Miracle "The Visitor (The Field Remix)"

First Listen

London label House Anxiety has a new EP coming down the pipeline from Miracle, a sort of art-rock supergroup whose members have spent time in Zombi and Sun O))), among other bands. "The Visitor" is one of the tracks on the outfit's forthcoming Fluid Window record, and is remixed here into something entirely different by Stockholm micro-techno auteur The Field (pictured above). The producer does away with original track's vocals altogether, focusing instead on turning the duo's dark synth-pop instrumentation into a lengthy bout of mesmerizing dance grooves and wispy soundscapes. As one would likely expect from The Field, he accomplishes his goal with taste and aplomb, and provides the music world with yet another ambient techno epic to lose ourselves in. 

Average: 7.7 (36 votes)

Download: Jonwayne "Crumbled Luna"

Label: Alpha Pup

Los Angeles rapper/producer Jonwayne has garnered a good deal of buzz within the SoCal beat community over the past few months, and next week will see the release of the producer's first proper full-length, Bowser (artwork above). Yes, that's right, Jonwayne has chosen to name his newest LP after the legendary antagonist from the Mario Brothers series, and maybe not just for nostalgia purposes; it's also as a nod to the chosen fidelity of the majority of the producer's sound sources—8-bit. Nestled a little before midway into the video-game homage of an LP is "Crumbled Luna," which begins with a slightly off-kilter arpeggio that somehow teeters between blissful and menacing while tiny drums skitter below. Then come the chords; swelling, lush, and vibrant, they evoke a sense of drama that's not easy to come by within the sonic realm of outdated microchips, and yet it's a realm which Wayne seems to walk through with a confident, concentrated swagger. "Crumbled Luna," along with Bowser's 18 other 8-bit opuses, can be heard in full when the LP is released April 19. 

Average: 7.1 (77 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player