XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 471

Download: Holy Other "Touch"

Label: Tri Angle

UK dark-pop hub Tri Angle has its fourth release scheduled to drop on June 6 by Manchester's Holy Other, a five-song EP called With U (pictured above). Following the producer's first "Yr Love" single (check out the Magick Mountain remix of that here), "Touch" is the latest tune to leak from Holy Other's debut, and follows suit with those deep, brooding soundscapes and vocal-sample soul pitched down to perfection. But while this track doesn't stray too far from the familiar palette of sullen moods and somber melodies, it somehow manages to let in a bit of light through the cracks of its isolation chamber. Bright flashes of electronics cut through the dense sub tones and slow-grooving beat work that make up most of "Touch" to join the ethereal reverb washes dripping from the Burial-esque sample play, and effectively give Holy Other's jam just the slightest shimmer in the midst of an otherwise murky atmosphere. 

Average: 8.3 (68 votes)

Download: Wav Dwgs "Age (Roche Remix)"

Last summer, we heard from the duo of Greg Zifack (formerly of the hyper-ravey Eats Tapes duo) and Bobby Browser, who were jointly operating as Global Warning. Now the duo has resurfaced under a new guise, Wav Dwgs, and have unveiled a handful of new tracks, including this remix from fellow San Francisco-based producer Roche. Where the original version of "Age" weaves elements in and out of its repeated synth stabs, Roche sends those stabs to the back of the line, instead focusing on a barrage of overdriven percussion, and bouncing, syncopated synth lines. Throw in a mechanically precise drum machine driving the whole affair and this one is sure to prove satisfying for even the most yearning of hardware-based techno fiends. 

Average: 7.7 (41 votes)

Download: Jay Weed "On the Nile (BFlecha Remix)"

Label: Grizzly

It's been over a year since we last heard from BFlecha (pictured above), when she surprised us with her wonky, pop-tinged "Ceja De Carnival" track. Now the Spanish producer has popped up again, this time with a remix for Jay Weed's Egyptian-themed "On the Nile," the latest release from Sinden's Grizzly imprint. There's not much wonk present on this latest production, which trades in the fuzzy synths of "Ceja De Carnival" for a bouncing house organ bass and twinkling, bell-like tones. And just as you think the remix is nothing more than a clever, bubbling house rearrangement of the original tune (which we'd certainly be happy with), BFlecha flips the beat into an inescapably lopsided two-steppin' affair. Another pleasant surprise from the young producer, someone who we hope that we don't have to wait another year to hear more of. (via Discobelle

Average: 8.1 (45 votes)

Download: Dirt Crew "Deep Love"

First Listen

Berlin's Dirt Crew imprint have been solidly releasing deep, soulful house for the better part of six years now and today sees the release of the label's 50th offering, a comp entitled Deep Love (artwork above) where you'll find this tune of the same name. The Dirt Crew duo, consisting of producers/label founders Break 3000 and James Flavour, kick things off in usual deep house fashion, implementing a pounding drum beat, dark bass, and a washy chopped chord to drive the song's first two-plus minutes. That's when things start to get interesting as the duo drops in a jazzy electric piano riff that glides effortlessly atop a fresh, skittering beat. The two sections go back and forth, coaxing various elements to the foreground as they traverse the eight-minute track without disturbing the essential groove maintained by the steady, low bass. This gem of Berlin house can be found amongst 14 other exclusive tracks from seasoned Dirt Crew-associated producers such as Chymera, Mano Le Tough, and a few of the imprint's newest roster additions. 

Average: 7.6 (38 votes)

Download: Crimea X "Varvara"

Label: Hell Yeah

If the above image wasn't a dead give away, you're in for a bit of a galactic voyage with this track from Italian duo Crimea X. "Varvara," from the duo's debut LP, Prospective, is a culmination of a number of vintage-tinged sensibilities. Sure, you're likely to find a hint of Krautrock, a touch of '80s synth-wave, and even the slightest whisper of '90s house, but make no mistake, "Varvara" is not simply an homage to all things retro. Instead, it's a contemporary slice of nu-disco, one in which constant arpeggios move in unison with a steady bass guitar and the driving force of a possibly live (more likely sampled) drummer, leaving ample room for Crimea X to throw one soaring melody after another into the fold. We're not sure what news channel these guys have been watching lately, but it sounds like they're preparing for a future where we'll all be dancing in space. Let's hope they're on to something. 

Average: 7.4 (30 votes)

Download: The Clonious "Alter-Ego-Cate"

First Listen
Label: Affine

Vienna-based electronic imprint Affine has a fresh compilation album dropping on April 11, which features hotly tipped productions from label affiliates such as Dorian Concept, JSBL, and, featured here, The Clonious. "Alter-Ego-Cate" is just one of four tracks that Austrian producer contributes to Affine's What a Fine Mess We Made release, and finds the artist flirting with electronic club sounds from across the board—including juke, forward-thinking house, and plenty of dubstep substrains. See how The Clonious' tastefully hyped-up production fares alongside the rest of the forthcoming compilation, and check out snippets of its 14 tracks here

Average: 8.2 (115 votes)

Download: Groundislava "Animal"

The latest member of the West Coast's burgeoning Wedidit Collective to come forth with new material, Groundislava, has passed along this track from his forthcoming self-titled debut LP (artwork above). "Animal" finds the Venice-based producer staying true to his 8-bit roots to a certain extent, as he manipulates a host of bit-crushed sounds into the kind of dramatic, futuristic beat we've come to know him for over the past few months. Fortunately, Groundislava does not stop there, adding depth to the track with layer upon layer of featured vocalist Jake Weary, whose pseudo-neo-soul crooning receives its fare share of sonic tinkering. Whether bathed in reverb, pitched up and down, or side-chained beyond recognition, Weary's vocals provide a melodic wash that rests nicely on top of the tune's stony, melancholy core. Groundislava's self-titled LP is set to drop April 12. You can check the full tracklist after the jump. Read more » 

Average: 8.1 (60 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player