XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 4

Download: C Powers "Phoenix Down"

First Listen
Label: CGI

Burgeoning Stateside label CGI has built a small but solid catalog since its founding last year, counting records from budding producers such as Alex Falk and Golden Donna to its run. Now, CGI is set to issue its next release later this month in the form of the four-track Up Neck from Savannah, Georgia-based producer C Powers. Pulled from the record's b-side is "Phoenix Down," a tough and heavy house track which smears sludgy sample manipulations and machine-made percussion stabs across a burrowing rhythmic structure that digs deeper as the track moves throughout its five-minute run. C Powers' Up Neck EP is set to see an official release on October 30; in the meantime, those interested in getting a more comprehensive introduction to the world of CGI can check out label head TWINS' recent mix—which plots the The Future Sound of CGI Records—after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.1 (26 votes)

Download: Cardopusher "1989 Warehouse (Phran Remix)"

Label: Classicworks

Earlier this week, Barcelona producer Cardopusher returned to the Classicworks label (an operation he jointly runs alongside fellow Spanish artist Nehuen) with the five-track Police Are Coming EP. To close out the EP, Cardopusher has enlisted Phran, a Barcelona transplant who had previously made a name for himself while based in Venezuela producing under the name Pacheko. Similar to his EP for Klasse (which dropped in May of this year), Phran's remix focuses on slightly overdriven hardware tones, with his rework of EP cut "1989 Warehouse" rendering a snare-heavy electro beat and analog synthlines into a piece of gritty dancefloor fare. Out now, the rest of Cardopusher's Police Are Coming EP can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.7 (34 votes)

Download: FanBoy "Give Em"

First Listen
Label: Rare Beef

With members currently residing in both Montreal and Madrid, production pair FanBoy will issue its debut EP via Toronto's Rare Beef label later this month. Ahed of the self-titled EP's release, the duo has passed along "Give Em," a soul-drenched cut whose thick chords and deep vocal sample have a classic-house feel, while its rhythmic structures and tough bassline bring the track crisply into the modern-house era. Following a handful of intriguing bootleg remixes (a few of which can still be grabbed on the outfit's SoundCloud), the pair's first official helping of original material, the FanBoy EP, is set to drop on October 21. 

Average: 8.4 (104 votes)

Download: Lucien "Explosssion"

First Listen

Burgeoning Parisian talent Lucien is in the midst of wrapping up preparations for a new EP which is said to be thematically based around "a journey on a mysterious island." Serving as our first taste of the upcoming, as-yet-untitled effort is "Explosssion," a track which blends precise house rhythms with an array of swimming textures and—every so often—an airy bed of jazzy horns. Lucien's forthcoming EP will eventually see its release via French label Ventura, but in the meantime, "Explosssion" can be downloaded in full below.  

Average: 7.6 (50 votes)

Download: Ruhig "Sister Ray"

Label: Midgar

Seasoned Berlin producer and co-founder of the Natch label, Audiolouis has taken to a new alias for his latest effort, crafting the six-track Lost in the Instability mini-LP under the name Ruhig. Set to appear on the fledgling Midgar imprint, the record is accompanied by "Sister Ray," a digital bonus track which serves as a fine introduction to the brand of atmospheric techno Ruhig is after. Spanning six minutes, "Sister Ray" in unwavering in its aims, as the track remains acutely focused on its deep-reaching four-on-the-floor while it methodically unrolls vast sheets of static-laden pads and airy atmospherics across the production. Out this week via Midgar, the rest of Lost in the Instability can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8 (37 votes)

Download: Snowday "Walk Along These Rocks with Me"

First Listen

A duo of Toronto-based producers/musicians/sound artists, Snowday will release its debut full-length, As We Travel, late next month. Pulled from the upcoming effort is "Walk Along These Rocks with Me," a production which comes flushed with bouncing layers of bell-like chords and textured percussion. Landing far away from the club side of electronic production, the track is a mediative composition, one which effortlessly floats bubbling electronics, airy vocal samples, and gliding synths in and out of its fluid run. Snowday's nine-track As We Travel LP will see its official release on November 25. 

Average: 8.1 (62 votes)

Download: Eduardo De La Calle "On the Maya Hands"

Label: Endless

Spanish producer Eduardo De La Calle today delivers the latest release for Barcelona's Endless imprint, the Sanskrit Vèda EP. Serving as the four-track effort's closing cut is "On the Maya Hands," an efficient track which sinks into cyclical, stripped-down grooves for the entirety of its seven-minute run. With the exception of a subtly bubbling synth sequence and occasional chorded stabs which weave their way into the track, the tool-like production focuses on its rhythmic components, painstakingly adding to and manipulating the track's bouncing collection of phased hats and miniature FX. Out now, the rest of Eduardo De La Calle's Sanskrit Vèda EP can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.1 (37 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player