XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 5

Download: Kodomo "Orange Ocean (Loscil Remix)"

First Listen

On his remix of "Orange Ocean"—a track taken from Brooklyn producer Kodomo's upcoming Patterns & Light LP (out on July 22)—Vancouver artist Loscil strips back the original track's rhythmic parts in order to focus on its poignant melodic content. Beginning with a playful bell melody and a set of light pads, Loscil's rework gradually opens up, its elements expanding the sonic field as reverb and delay are added to nearly every corner of the track's dense aural landscape. Eventually, Loscil takes a step back from his dreamy concoction, brining the focus again to the original melody only to lose it seconds later to a swell of crystalline drones. 

Average: 8.5 (64 votes)

Download: Ligovskoï "Goha (HBTVSK Remix)"

First Listen
Label: Dement3d

In its original form Ligovskoï's (a.k.a. Nikolaï Azonov and Valerio Selig) "Goha" is a weightless composition which aimlessly moves through angelic drones and bright, airy textures. For their collaborative remix together as HBTVSK, French producers Heartbeat and Voiski reimagine the track as an expansive and dark techno excursion, lacing the floating textures of Ligovskoï's original with thick drum machine rhythms and an extra dose of grit. The 10-plus minute HBTVSK remix featured is set to be included on Azonov's and Selig's upcoming collaborative Dilip EP, which can be previewed after the jump before its sees its official release on July 21 via the Dement3d label.  Read more » 

Average: 8.6 (58 votes)

Download: Jeffrey Brodsky "I'll Be Strong"

New to our Downloads section today is LA-based producer Jeffrey Brodsky, whose recent I'll Be Strong EP places his original tune alongside remixes from Mark E, Mike Simonetti, and Richard Sen. Having received a vinyl-only release last month, the titel track from Brodsky's recent EP is featured here; a catchy house groove that lays synth arpeggios and prominent vocal chops atop a softly echoing beat. Out now, the rest of the SoCal producer's new EP can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.7 (68 votes)

Download: Tapirus "Delysid"

First Listen

Rotterdam-based producer Charlton Ravenberg will release a new EP under his Tapirus alias later this month via Singaporean imprint Midnight Shift. Serving as his second outing for the label under the moniker, the Where Are We Heading EP is said to find the producer exploring more spacious creative territory, allowing him to "roam, breathe, flex, and grow." A bonus cut from the EP's sessions, "Delysid" is an appropriately expansive production, one which is led by slightly jacked rhythms and a rounded bass sequence. From there, Ravenberg builds a lush sonic atmosphere full of deep-reaching pads and weightless synth movements that gracefully float atop the track's rhythmic core. The Dutch producer's upcoming four-track effort for Midnight Shift—which boasts a remix from Credit 00 (a.k.a. German artist Alexander Dorn)—is set to arrive on July 21.  

Average: 6.9 (59 votes)

Download: Wallwork & RZR "Mad Techno Invasion"

First Listen

"Mad Techno Invasion"—the title track from East London duo Wallwork & RZR's forthcoming EP for Infinite Machine—is a deceiving production. Though its title may lead one to expect a brooding techno excursion, the tune actually begins in more garage-indebted territory, crafting a skipping, bass-heavy beat with moody chords and chopped vocal samples. It's around the two-minute mark that the track then completely flips, diving into a heavy assemblage of machine-made bass tones, booming kicks, and stuttering percussion. One of five tracks to be included on the pair's upcoming EP, "Mad Techno Invasion" can be downloaded below while the rest of Wallwork & RZR's new effort can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.3 (70 votes)

Download: Candide "Bit (Cromie Remix)"

First Listen

Pulled from NYC pair Candide's Don't You Go EP (released earlier this year via the Zappruder label), "Bit" has received the remix treatment from burgeoning Los Angeles talent Cromie (pictured above). Following on the heels of his own recent EP for Peach, Cromie's rework stays true to the disco-lined pop essence of Candide's original while reshaping the track into more club-ready form. Lacing the remix with a pounding assemblage of low-swung rhythms, Cromie unspools a number of restless synth lines behind Candide's impassioned vocals, which lead the charging remix for most of its elongated run. 

Average: 7.6 (47 votes)

Download: Bag Raiders "Savannah (Roland Tings Remix)"

First Listen

Melbourne-based producer Roland Tings (a.k.a. Rohan Newman) has now followed up his recent Who U Love 12'' with a remix of LA-based Australians Bag Raiders' (pictured above) latest production. Featured as the closing track on the duo's new Nairobi EP (out now via Modular), Newman's take on "Savannah" wades through more subdued territory than the dance-friendly original. Here, the producer starts by replacing the track's nimbly bouncing beat and catchy percussion with echoing low-end and a gritty lead synthline. From there, Roland Tings digs deep into the brooding, elastic beat, weaving delicate hits and spacious synths around the rhythmic base for the majority of the remix's six-plus-minute run.  

Average: 7.6 (56 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player