XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 7

Download: Sui Generis "'90s Girls"

First Listen

Rising UK producer Sui Generis issued his You Got Me EP via the Sounds of Sumo label over the weekend, a six-track effort which included remixes from DJ Q and Majora in its run. Generis' "'90s Girl" production serves as a bonus track to that EP, and like much of You Got Me, the tune finds Generis exploring the darker ends of UK club music. Fueled by a harrowing bassline and built atop a tough shuffle, "'90s Girl" extends beyond the six-minute mark as it burrows beneath industrial textures and layers of brooding strings. Out now, Sui Generis' You Got Me EP can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.4 (55 votes)

Download: Dan Bodan "Soft As Rain (MCFERRDOG Remix)"

First Listen

Last week saw the DFA imprint issue Soft, the debut album from Berlin producer/vocalist Dan Bodan. As a supplement to the release, DFA also teamed up with increasingly visible Vancouver outpost 1080p—who we highlighted during our recent Labels We Love week—to issue a cassette version of the record. Now, in the spirit of further celebrating the labels' partnership, 1080p affiliate MCFERRDOG (a.k.a. Max McFerren) has been enlisted to remix Bodan's "Soft As Rain"; a twisted slice of funk-laced pop in its original form, McFerren reimagines the song as a digital club track, one that stretches its breathy chords and tightly constructed rhythms well past the eight-minute mark. In addition to offering MCFERRDOG's remix for download below, the video for the original "Soft As Rain" can be watched after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7 (46 votes)

Download: Samuli Kemppi "Oortian Interpretation"

First Listen

Longstanding Finnish producer Samuli Kemppi has hooked up with Italian label M_REC LTD to issue The Observer Effect LP, a 12-track record that will serve as the first full-length effort from both artist and label. While each of The Observer Effect's productions are said to have resulted from live takes built using only hardware, bonus cut "Oortian Interpretation" feels similarly raw and direct. Extending to six minutes, the track does not see Kemppi rushing, but rather finds the artist sinking into a series of dark and propulsive loops finished with a steel-like edge. Kemppi's forthcoming album will see its official release on November 10; in the meantime, The Observer Effect can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.1 (51 votes)

Download: Valesuchi "Golosynth"

First Listen

Santiago, Chile's Discos Pegaos label will this week release the debut outing from hometown producer Valesuchi. A budding artist chosen for this year's RBMA class, Valesuchi is said to have made waves throughout Santiago's underground music scene for years as a DJ and occasional live performer, though the forthcoming Golosynth EP will prove to be her first official outing as a solo producer. Ahead of the record's release, Valesuchi has sent along the EP's title track, a lush and moody piece of hardware-driven house which places thick, string-like chords atop a relaxed, clap-heavy beat. The rest of Valesuchi's four-track Golosynth will see a digital release tomorrow via the fast-growing Discos Pegaos imprint. 

Average: 7.7 (78 votes)

Download: Aashton "4 Real (Cosmo Lopez Remix)"

Label: Skrufix

Today sees the release of 4 Real, the latest EP to surface from increasingly active UK producer Aashton. A thick slice of bass-infused house in its original form, the title track to Aashton's new record has received a remix treatment from Cosmo Lopez (who also constitutes one-third of the LPZ outfit). On his rework (which closes out Aashton's three-track EP), Lopez reshapes "4 Real" into a more driving effort, lacing the track with a buzzing synth sequence which leads the charge to the dancefloor with an extra dose of bass weight. After grabbing Lopez's remix below, the wrestling-themed video for Aasthon's original "4 Real" production can be watched after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8 (56 votes)

Download: Profile "Move"

Label: Cut

The latest release from monthly subscription label Cut comes in the form of Estonian producer Profile's three-track Jnana EP. Closing out the record is "Move," a six-minute expedition into dense techno territory which builds in slow, hypnotic steps, eventually burying its deep and spacious bassline beneath wide-spread layers of shuffling hats and celestial pads. Joining other Cut releases from the likes of Essáy, Raindog, Firejose and label head Alex Cowles (who formerly operated as DFRNT but recently adopted the alias of Stillhead), Profile's Jnana EP is out now and can be further previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.1 (55 votes)

Download: Jeff Fressco "It Ain't No Shuffle"

Label: Widad

Widad is the newly founded sister label to French outpost B.YRSLF Division, and with its first release, the imprint has issued a 14-track compilation entitled Bidaïa to serve as its inaugural outing. Landing towards the middle of the collection is "It Ain't No Shuffle" a funk-laced effort from Amsterdam-based producer Jeff Fressco, who uses the tune's three-plus-minute runtime to lay crystalized chords and gurgled melodies atop a sparse, snapping beat. Fressco's "It Ain't No Shuffle" can be grabbed below, while Widad's full Bidaïa compilation can be streamed after the jump and downloaded for free here.  Read more » 

Average: 7.6 (74 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player