XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 666

Download: Minilogue "Jamaica"

Label: Cocoon

Sebastian Mullaert and Marcus Henriksson have been releasing tracks as Minilogue for about eight years now. The Swedish duo chose wisely with their portmanteau moniker (a combination of "minimal" and "dialogue"); their songs are minimal soundscapes that mix elements of '90s techno dramatics with dark, sparse beats. Hendrikkson knows a thing or two about techno, as he's been spinning some of southern Sweden's biggest parties since the mid-nineties. It doesn't hurt, of course, that Mullaert is classically trained in piano and violin as well. This latest track, "Jamaica," fits right in their oeuvre: a long, dark beat driven into a loud, drumming climax. Wyatt Williams  

Average: 7.5 (62 votes)

Download: Too $hort "I Ain't Trippin (James Pants Remix)"

How does a white drum line kid from Spokane Read more » 

Average: 7 (29 votes)

Download: Truckasauras "Super Copter"

Seattle, Washington has a big problem on its hands, a problem that goes by the name Truckasauras. Made from a Voltron-esque composite of analog electronics and a hacked Gameboy, this three-person group has an insatiable taste for cheap beer and homo-erotic professional wrestling matches. Sent as a debut transmission from the monster's hideout, Tea Parties, Guns, and Valor seems to indicate that Truckasauras might soon be venturing out in search of more whiskey and VHS copies of old Airwolf episodes. You've been warned. Wyatt Williams 

Average: 7.7 (108 votes)

Download: The Delta Fiasco "Death Letters"

If it's a good, solid adrenaline kick you're craving, look no further than The Delta Fiasco. The Liverpool-based trio will soon release its first EP, Dreameater, much to the delight of those who love the ever-evolving amalgamation of dance music and indie rock. Here, the boys unleash a torrent of guitars, synthesizers, laptop-generated bleeps, and outer space-like noises while vocalist Nathan Walczak belts lyrics into the mic in an endearingly off-key fashion. 

Average: 7.5 (21 votes)

Download: Ghostface Killah "Charlie Brown (Orgasmic Remix)"

Label: Scion A/V

Car companies have been incorporating dance music into their commercials for more than a few years, but the Toyota-owned Scion A/V has stepped past those hasty 30 second spots by releasing the music itself. Ghostface Killah lent his "Charlie Brown" track, left off of Fishscale because of licensing issues, to this Scion A/V 12" series, to be remixed by a few hot electro acts. Featured here is the mix from Orgasmic-of Paris-based rap group TTC-who brings some high energy French beats to back the vocals of a legend. Wyatt Williams 

Average: 7.6 (54 votes)

Download: Dominique Leone "Duyen"

Label: Strømland

Currently operating out of San Francisco, Texas-born Dominique Leone cites everyone from Claude Debussy to ABBA as his musical influences, and the multi-talented producer/songwriter/singer capitalizes on his classical music background as well. His self-titled debut album is the first for Lindstrøm and Smalltown Supersound's new Strømland Records imprint, and is a collection of intricately arranged pop numbers that appear to utilize every instrument–electronic or otherwise–under the sun. Photo by Jess Halverson. 

Average: 7.4 (22 votes)

Download: Crunc Tesla "We All Have a SolarPlexus"

Crunc Tesla is another one of those musical Renaissance men who have worked a ridiculous amount of diversity into their careers. He has accomplished everything from founding a record label (Luv Technologies) to making music under many different aliases and touring with names as diverse as Dizzee Rascal and Bright Eyes. He even had a stint with the trombone at one point. His recently released debut album, What's Really Rad, fuses his Atlanta hip-hop roots with B-more bass and electro beats, and features a slew of guest artists. 

Average: 6.3 (34 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player