XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 653

Download: Krazy Baldhead "Sweet Night (Club Remix) feat. Outlines"

Label: Ed Banger

Krazy Baldhead’s forthcoming album, The B-Suite, will feature four movements and 49 minutes of music from the playful Ed Banger vet. This club remix of “Sweet Night,” off the new album, features the jazzy vocals of Outlines on top of a funky electro beat punctuated with tinny accents and robotic back-up vocals. Halfway through the song, the pulse trips into driving, choppy, polyrhythmic layers that speed to a serene close. Catch Mr. Baldhead on tour in Europe this spring with fellow Banger buddy, DJ Mehdi. The B Suite comes out on April 27.  

Average: 6.4 (25 votes)

Download: Kate Simko "God Particle"

Label: Ghostly

Kate Simko used her love of techno, her background in classical music, and her admiration for scalar elementary particles to form her latest release, the soundtrack to PBS science documentary The Atom Smashers. The film follows a group of physicists on their search for the Higgs Boson particle, otherwise known as "The God Particle" (if physics wasn't your major, the Higgs Boson would, if found, help determine the origins of the universe). Ponder that theory while listening to Simko's minimal-driven soundtrack. Music from The Atom Smashers is out now. 

Average: 7.7 (57 votes)

Download: Christine ""Cool Your Shoes (Cassettes Won't Listen Remix)""

Julian Carnrite and Kevin Schmidt, of Vancouver-based synth-pop group Christine, will release their debut EP, Good Ideas, next week on Moodgadget, but we at XLR8R are bringing you an exclusive Cassettes Won’t Listen remix of the EP’s single, “Cool Your Shoes,” to enjoy in the meantime. This remix gives Carnrite and Schmidt’s decidedly give-a-shit vocal delivery and straightforward pop hooks a shot of grainy bass and oscillating top synths. Good Ideas is out April 21. 

Average: 6.8 (50 votes)

Download: Shadow Dancer "Poke"

Label: Boys Noize

The Shadow Dancer boys proved their mixing chops earlier this year, and now the Mancunian duo is ready to release its debut album, Golden Traxe, via Boys Noize. Synthesizer die-hards, take note. Golden Traxe is out June 30.


Average: 4.5 (29 votes)

Download: Amanda Blank "Might Like You Better"

Label: Downtown

Frequent Spank Rock collaborator Amanda Blank's forthcoming album might be called I Love You, but the first track off the release is, it seems, about all things lust related. "I might like you better/if we slept together," she raps over a bouncy, bassy rhythm, and that's about the tamest line you'll find on this track. I Love You is out July 14.  

Average: 6.2 (42 votes)

Download: Dem Franchize Boys "I Think They Like Me (Mochipet Remix)"

Label: Daly City

Here comes more Mochipet madness. The weirdo-hop maestro takes on Atlanta-based hip-hop collective Dem Franchize Boys for his next project, turning the group's track "I Think They Like Me" into a frantic future-blap number packed end-to-end with electronics. 

Average: 6.9 (57 votes)

Download: 77Klash "Pressure Feat. Matt Shadetek"

Label: Klash City

Brooklyn's power duo—MC 77Klash and beatmaker Matt Shadetek—drops another bass-heavy track, this one with a staggered rhythm section and sharp-as-nails lyrical spitfire. The track is off Klash's forthcoming new album, No Fear.


Average: 6.3 (31 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player