XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 4

Download: Ponty Mython "Movin' On"

First Listen
Label: Dirt Crew

The Dirt Crew label is set to celebrate 10 years of music with the forthcoming Deep Love 10 compilation. Rather than using the occasion to look back on its past successes, the imprint has elected to focus on its future, gathering a slew of exclusive new tracks from artists such as Tigerskin, Edit Murphy, and Kito Jempere for the collection. Featured here is Lithuanian producer Ponty Mython's contribution to the effort, "Movin' On." Named partly for the Brass Construction song which it briefly samples, Ponty Mython's track is a low-sung affair, one which is flushed with bluesy chords, active synth work, and doses of rapid-fire percussion. Out on August 25, the upcoming Deep Love 10 comp can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.8 (62 votes)

Download: Son of Sun "Feel Like I Feel (John Daly Remix)"

First Listen

Son of Sun (pictured above) is the combined efforts of Berlin-based producer Tyson Ballard and vocalist Sheff. Together, the two recently released an EP via London's Love Fever imprint, but the pair had also worked together on Ballard's 2013 for Voyeurhythm, from which the original "Feel Like I Feel" can be found. Handed over to irish producer John Daly for remix duties, the track is taken to the more space-minded ends of soulful house here. Extending the production to a spacious eight minutes, Daly—who also has a record on the way for Love Fever—subdues the original's vocals beneath layers of bouncing keys and airy pads, which echo atop the rework's loose hats and rounded bass notes. Son of Sun's Whispers EP is out in vinyl form now (and is streaming in full after the jump), with a digital release slated to land on September 1 and an eventual remix EP featuring Soul Clap, Boris Werner, Citizen, and Adesse Versions set to land in October.  Read more » 

Average: 8.2 (54 votes)

Download: Troy Gunner "Swoon"

First Listen

Budding Bristol talent Troy Gunner will issue his next outing via the fledgling Electro Magnetic Fields label next month. Ahead of the simply titled EMF:005 EP's release, Gunner has sent along icy bonus cut "Swoon" to help spread the word. Here, the young producer displays a proficiency for precise craftsmanship, as every sonic detail appears meticulously sculpted. Still, "Swoon" is far from clinical, finding Gunner coyly splicing bits of refracted soul and even touches of swing (mostly thanks to a handful of chopped breaks) to the production during the course of its run. Troy Gunner's four-track EMF:005 EP is set to arrive on September 22. 

Average: 8.4 (53 votes)

Download: Lamin Fofana "Two-Spirit"

Hailing from the middle of NYC producer Lamin Fofana's recent First Symphony EP, "Two-Spirit" is an acutely focused track. Spanning over five minutes, the production places a sci-fi thump beneath detailed layers of electronic haze. Eventually, faint keys and a whispered conversation begin to seep through the fog, as the track's rhythmic pulse continues unaffected, digging deeper and deeper as "Two-Spirit" moves through its run. Released via Fofana's own Sci-Fi & Fantasy label earlier this month, the official release party for the man's First Symphony EP is set to go down this Saturday in NYC, where the producer will be joined by Max McFerren and L'estasi Dell'oro (more info here). In addition to the free download of "Two-Spirit" below, Fofana's First Symphony EP can be streamed in full after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 6.9 (41 votes)

Download: Maxime Dangles "Unversal"

Label: Dunsciat

French producer Maxime Dangles delivered his Conduktion EP via the fledgling Dunsciat label earlier this month. Serving as the three-track record's closing effort is "Unversal," the deep and driving cut featured here. Built on the back of a pulsing sequence of thick chords, the track spends the better part of its first half simply maintaining its hypnotic cycle. Around the four-minute mark though, Dangles digs decidedly deeper with his production, laying into a heavier set of booming rhythms that add extra low-end strength to the production, and ultimately making "Unversal" an engrossing affair across its entire seven-plus-minute run. Out now, the rest of Dangles Conduktion EP can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.6 (32 votes)

Download: High Lucia "Afar"

First Listen
Label: Lex

High Lucia is the new moniker of Leo Marcus, a 20-year-old producer who had previously turned in some impressive work under the name Pále. Next week, Marcus will issue the debut effort under his new handle, the Wash EP, via the Lex label. Set to appear on the record is "Afar" a dense, moody production which wraps water-logged melodies, dark chords, and layers of airy textures around a sparse, bass-heavy beat. Despite the expanse of sonic material Marcus uses here, the track is far from murky, as each element seems to have found its own specific corner in the sonic landscape, allowing for the tune's booming kicks and sharp claps to cut through the fog. High Lucia's six-track Wash EP sees its official release on August 25. 

Average: 8.3 (48 votes)

Download: Seafloor "4 the Future"

First Listen

The glowing "4 the Future" comes from the upcoming The Noise EP, which budding Brooklyn talent Seafloor plans to drop for free on August 25. With its ravey synths and understated skitter, "4 the Future" lands somewhere between footwork-indebted bass and pop-leaning beatwork, its candy-coated synths and active vocal manipulations leading the charge above the track's 808 rhythms. Seafloor's latest production, and his upcoming free EP, come ahead of a pair of efforts for the growing Infinite Machine label, which plans to deliver a digital EP from the man later this year and a proper 12" release in early 2015. 

Average: 7 (50 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player