XLR8R - logo

Downloads - Page 7

Download: Julian Earle "The Boy"

First Listen

Julian Earle is a young (we're told he's a mere 17 years of age) Stateside producer who is in the process of putting together a debut release for Parisian label Ventura. Before then, Earle has decided to issue "The Boy," his first official production, as a free download. Spanning just under four minutes, the tune is a blissful endeavor, one which wraps thick layers of sweeping chords around its base as heavenly textures ring out atop the track's garage-indebted beat. While we await more details to come on the young producer's debut release, Julian Earle's initial offering, "The Boy," can be grabbed below. 

Average: 7.9 (71 votes)

Download: Kuage "Break Osaka"

"Break Osaka" serves as the b-side to French pair Kuage's recently released A Part of You EP. Lined with a touch of tropical textures and dub underpinnings, "Break Osaka" lands on the more delicate side of techno, its focus placed on detailed sound structures and generously manipulated layers of percussion which ride atop the track's full-bodied low-end. Released at the tail-end of last month, the a-side effort from Kuage's recent EP for the Combien Mille label can be streamed in full after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8.1 (84 votes)

Download: Lloyd "Antra"

Back in September, we were introduced to the work of Barcelona-based producer Pedro Vian, who offered a hypnotically percussive free track for our Downloads section. In addition, we were also introduced to Vian's fledgling Modern Obscure label, which today releases its second effort, a four-track compilation simply titled Various Artists. Said to lay out the label's musical aesthetic going forward—one focused on "repetitive patterns, calmness, and dark and elegant melodies"—Barcelona-based producer and (according to the label) synth collector Lloyd closes out the EP with "Antra." Spanning four minutes, "Antra" lives up to Modern Obscure's aims, taking shape as a calming expedition through atmospheric club music, and lined with a number of vibrant synth melodies. The rest of Modern Obscure's digital Various Artists EP—which features tracks from Vian, Sunny Graves, and Defled—can be streamed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.5 (47 votes)

Download: Berkson & What "We Search for Answers"

First Listen
Label: Modelmaker

The long-running production pair of Dan Berkson and James What (or simply Berkson & What) will release its debut collaborative album, Keep Up Appearances, in early 2015 via the duo's own Modelmaker imprint. Serving as our first taste of the record is "We Search for Answers," a spacious track that laces its light, skittering techno framework with a steady stream of sharp synth tones which twist and turn around the tracks intertwining layers of percussion. An efficient and well-paced production which extends past the six-minute mark, "We Search for Answers" will be joined by eight other Berkson & What originals when the UK pair's Keep Up Appearances LP sees its official release on January 26 of next year. 

Average: 8 (76 votes)

Download: The Cyclist "Breathless"

First Listen
Label: All City

Andrew Morrison (a.k.a. The Cyclist) is set to return with his Flourish LP later this week, the young Irish producer's first full-length effort since last year's excellent Bones in Motion LP. Ahead of the record's release, Morrison has passed along album cut "Breathless," a characteristically hazy endeavor which piles woozy chords and a stream of murky textures atop a grinding dancefloor framework. The hardware-burnt "Breathless" is one of seven tracks set to appear on Flourish, which will see its official release on Friday, November 7 via the All City imprint. In the meantime, The Cyclist has also shared a new video for similarly distortion-lined LP cut "Daisy Spirals" (which can be watched after the jump) and a mini-mix of the forthcoming record's tracks, which can be found here.  Read more » 

Average: 7.9 (71 votes)

Download: OL "Around"

First Listen
Label: Meda Fury

Since we were first properly introduced to the work of Russian producer OL back in 2012 (whilst researching for our Welcome to... Russia feature), the Moscow-based artist has kept himself plenty busy issuing releases for the likes of Fine Grains and Capital Bass, among others. Now, OL is set to next land on the Meda Fury imprint (a sub-label of R&S) with the Scape Border EP, a seven-track record from which "Around" comes to us. Here, OL playfully patches together a string of soul- and funk-laced samples, resulting in a loose-swung track that is held together by a series of crunchy—if understated—house rhythms. Officially out on November 10, the rest of OL's forthcoming Scape Border EP can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 8 (61 votes)

Download: Sui Generis "'90s Girls"

First Listen

Rising UK producer Sui Generis issued his You Got Me EP via the Sounds of Sumo label over the weekend, a six-track effort which included remixes from DJ Q and Majora in its run. Generis' "'90s Girl" production serves as a bonus track to that EP, and like much of You Got Me, the tune finds Generis exploring the darker ends of UK club music. Fueled by a harrowing bassline and built atop a tough shuffle, "'90s Girl" extends beyond the six-minute mark as it burrows beneath industrial textures and layers of brooding strings. Out now, Sui Generis' You Got Me EP can be previewed after the jump.  Read more » 

Average: 7.4 (60 votes)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player