XLR8R - logo

  • Filed under: News
  • 06/19/2007

Nicole Willis and The Soul Investigators are Reachin’ Up

Keep Reachin’ Up is an apt name for Brooklyn-based vocalist Nicole Willis’ new record. Along with the Finnish-bred The Soul Investigators, Willis has been getting her just desserts over the last year, with Giles Peterson proclaiming the album’s opener, “Feeling Free,” track of the year, and “If This Ain’t Love” taking a slot on BBC’s Top Ten Tracks of the Year list. Normally giving a Northern spin to the classic soul formula in their music, Willis and The Soul Investigators add an extra element to this latest release, namely, a collaboration with legendary dance music producer Maurice Fulton.

Soft and warm, Keep Reachin’ Up is being released by Light in the Attic records, following on the heels of two Betty Davis reissues. A tough act to follow, but Willis and the Investigators are no pushovers, pulling in contributions from Jukka Sarapää, Jimi Tenor, Pekka Kuusisto, and others, and keeping the Motown in modern soul.

Keep Reachin’ Up is out July 24, 2007 on Light in the Attic.

Listen to "If This Ain't Love (Don't Know What Is)"

1. Feeling Free
2. If This Ain’t Love (Don’t Know What Is)
3. Keep Reachin’ Up
4. Blues Downtown
5. My Four Leaf Clover
6. A Perfect Kind of Love
7. Invisible Man
8. Holdin’ On
9. No One’s Gonna Love You
10. Soul Investigators Theme

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player