XLR8R - logo

  • Filed under: News
  • 04/21/2008

Domu’s Label Kicks Into High Gear

Ever feel like electronic music these days is lacking something? Like originality, emotion, artfulness, and authenticity? In a dance music world where producers rely on genre cliché’s, boring production tools, and overall creative laziness, it’s refreshing to be surprised by a consistent new label with a playful edge. Such is the case with producer Dominic “Domu” Stanton and partner in crime Dave “Shift” Farlam’s new TrebleO imprint. The label will debut a dope compilation later this month that covers future-jazz, broken-soul, Dilla-type beats, leftfield house, and jazzy electronic jams from Domu, Simbad, Nu Era (a.k.a. 4hero’s Marc Mac), and Daedelus.

Stanton's contributions to dance music are multifaceted and much praised, from his cutting edge drum & bass tracks as Sonar Circle to broken business with 2000 Black, Archive, and Papa Records, to his activities as a Co-Op resident DJ, BBC 1Xtra presenter, and relentless producer. TrebleO is a culmination of his experiences made into a dynamic label and web portal. How dynamic? The website features, blogs (WMC gossip!), videos (like Take and Lukid’s awesome "Navigators"), bios, and exclusive releases like Domu's Discotech II EP in the webstore.

Take it from TrebleO: Music doesn’t have to be boring.

Here Come Treble is out April 28 as an iTunes exclusive download, out May 5 on CD, and May 12 through all digital outlets.

1. Lukid “Twice”
2. Probe Dms “Voodoo Magic”
3. Chris Barker “Breakin Bread”
4. Ben Mi Duck “Pointless Dreams”
5. Nu Era “Robot Moves”
6. Domu Feat Aina “Izittobe”
7. Soulparlor “Gee”
8. Sonar Circle “Cry [Bass Clef Mix]”
9. Domu “So Move”
10. Cartridge “Planet Zero”
11. Baker Brothers “What You Do Is Right”
12. Dj Marin “Love Fantasy [Rondenion Mix]”
13. Sub Ensemble “22 21”
14. Simbad “Momentum”
15. Dorian Concept “Thank Capital Letters”
16. Daedelus “Drummery Jam”

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player