XLR8R - logo

  • Filed under: News
  • 05/12/2008

Daptone Announces Second 7” Collection

Don’t think that just because it caught the attention of Amy Winehouse and NPR news that Daptone Records has abandoned its core fans. Instead, the Brooklyn-based funk trailblazing imprint is set to offer a digital-only compilation of some of its most treasured 45s.

Out June 3, Daptone7 Inch Singles Collection, Vol. 2 will be comprised of 13 tracks from some of the label's finest artists, including Lee Fields and Sugarman 3, the now-defunct Mighty Imperials, Charles Bradley, and film and stage star Sharon Jones alongside her band The Dap-Kings.

The collection represents a first-ever digital release for many of these previously unavailable tracks.

The collection features highlights like Charles Bradley's vibrant funk workout, "Can't Stop Thinking About You," the wah-wah-driven groove of Lee Fields' "Stand Up," and Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra's take on the Willie Colón salsa standard, "Che Che Colé." The Daptone MySpace page features examples of the label’s distinctive grooves.

Daptone 7 Inch Singles Collection, Vol. 2 sheds more light on the soul devotion of a great crop of American artists.

1. The Mighty Imperials “The Matador”
2. Charles Bradley & The Bullets “Now That I'm Gone”
3. Charles Bradley “Can't Stop Thinking About You”
4. Lee Fields “Could Have Been”
5. Lee Fields & The Sugarman 3 “You Don't Know What You Mean”
6. Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings “How Long Do I Have To Wait For You (Instr.)”
7. Charles Bradley & The Bullets “This Love Ain't Big Enough for the Two of Us”
8. Charles Bradley & The Bullets “(She's Got) Twilight Eyes”
9. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings “I Just Dropped In to See What Condition My Condition Is In”
10. Lee Fields & The Sugarman 3 “Stand Up”
11. Lee Fields & The Sugarman 3 “Stand Up Pt. II”
12. The Dap-Kings “Nervous Like Me”
13. Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra “Che Che Cole”

Pictured Above: The Mighty Imperials recording in 2004. Photo by Dulce Pinzon.

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player