XLR8R - logo

  • Filed under: News
  • 05/01/2009

Robert Hood’s Minimal Nation Re-Issued

When we last checked in with DJ/producer Robert Hood, he was awaiting the release of his Fabric 39 compilation and talked extensively with XLR8R about the future of both his career and Detroit, his former hometown.

These days, however, the techno pioneer and Underground Resistance founder is taking a look backwards, with the forthcoming reissue of his Minimal Nation album. Originally released in 1994 as a vinyl double-pack, the album marked one of his first releases after his departure from Underground Resistance.

The new version—out June 15 on M-Plant—is the first time tracks from the album will appear in digital format. All those that appeared on the original album will be re-mastered and packaged with two previously unreleased songs, "Self-Powered" and "SH-101."

Additionally, those who prefer their music analog and purchase the vinyl or CD version will also receive an exclusive mix CD compiled by Hood, a sampling of tracks off Minimal Nation, 1994's Internal Empire, 1995's Nighttime World, and the HoodMusic series, released between 2005 and 2007.

"We shouldn't dwell on the past but we should never forget, because it makes you appreciate who you are today," Hood said when we spoke with him last year. Seems like, he’s adhering to that philosophy pretty well these days.

Minimal Nation:
01 One Touch
02 Museum
03 SH-101
04 Rhythm Of Vision
05 Unix
06 Ride
07 Station Rider E
08 Self-Powered
09 Sleep Cycle
10 Rhythm Of Vision

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player