XLR8R - logo

  • Filed under: News
  • 09/15/2010

Bjørn Torske to Release New Album on Smalltown Supersound

In Norwegian, Bjørn Torske's name translates to "Bear Cod." The title for his forthcoming fourth album, the follow up to 2007's Feil Knapp, Kokning, refers to a particular process of preparing dinner in northern Norway: set the potatoes to boil, go catch a fish in the sea, bring it back to make the meal. Even the music on Torske's new record is part of his native culture: Torske is one of the founding members of "skranglehouse" (or "rattle house"), which meshes together a wide array of musical styles from disco to house to dub to post-punk to prog to electronica with just about everything in between. Before Kokning drops on November 2 via Smalltown Supersound, you can read up on Torske's Nordic sounds in this past feature from XLR8R's pages, and find the album artwork and tracklist below.

1. Kokning
2. Bryggesjau
3. Gullfjellet
4. Langt Fra Afrika
5. Bergensere
6. Slitte sko
7. Nitten nitti
8. Versjon Wolfenstein
9. Furu

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player