XLR8R - logo

  • Filed under: News
  • 02/25/2011

Akwaaba to Release Remix Album

The globe-trotting Akwaaba imprint has announced the release of a new remix compilation, Perfect Loosers Present: Akwaaba Remixed (artwork above), gathering songs from the label's discography and placing them in the hands of some up-and-coming producers. On this particular release, the label has assembled an impressive slate of artists to take songs from a few of the label's West African artists (hailing from Mali, Ghana, Nigeria, and Gambia) and reinterpret them for the modern, progressive club culture. The diverse list of remixers includes Germany's Hat+Hoodie (whose contribution to the comp we posted a few months back) and Schlachthofbronx, Canada's Jokers of the Scene, Portugal's Diamond Bass, and US beatmaker Chief Boima, amongst others. The compilation's presenters, French trio Perfect Loosers, have put together a 20-plus-minute megamix with a few choice cuts from the record which you can stream/download below before the comp is released on March 9. You can check the LP's complete tracklist down below as well.

01. Onyenze "Onwa Nna Na Nwa" (Sabbo Remix)
02. Onyenze "I Go Pay" (Perfect Loosers Remix)
03. Onyenze "Ogidi Inwelu" (Lazy Flow Remix)
04. Jali Bakary Konteh "Combination" (Hatnhoodie Remix)
05. Ahmed Fofana "Don Kano" (Jokers of the Scene Remix)
06. Onyenze "Onwa Nna Na Nwa" (Max le Daron Remix)
07. DJ Djeff "Elegom Bounsa" feat Maskarado (Filipe Narciso Deepduro Mix)
08. Onyenze "Akachukwu" (Diamond Bass Remix)
09. Onyenze "Ogidi Inwelu" (Djeff & Silyvi Remix)
10. Onyenze "Onwa Nna Na Nwa" (Schlachthofbronx Remix)
11. X-Pensive Nframa "Aunty Adoley" (Chief Boima Remix)
12. 4x4 "Miss Doctor" (Dance Kill Move Remix)
13. Ahmed Fofana "Balani" (Perfect Loosers Remix)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player