XLR8R - logo

  • Filed under: News
  • 03/04/2011

John Maus to Release New Album in June

Minnesota's resident weirdo-pop auteur and one-time XLR8R TV subject, John Maus, has another LP ready to be unleashed on the music world come this summer, and it bears the absurdly long, heady title We Must Become the Pitiless Censors of Ourselves. The record will drop via Maus' longtime label home Upset the Rhythm! in the UK and Ribbon Music in the US on June 27 and 28, respectively. We Must... features 11 tracks of Maus' brand of vintage-inspired, lo-fi synth pop, all of which bring together "the shirt pulling and air punching of his live performance" with "a tender inner space that wasn’t as apparent on his previous albums." You can stream/download what that sounds like on the album's first single, "Quantum Leap," while checking out the artwork and tracklist for Maus' LP, all of which is posted below.

01. Streetlight
02. Quantum Leap
03. ...And The Rain
04. Hey Moon
05. Keep Pushing On
06. The Crucifix
07. Head for the Country
08. Cop Killer
09. Matter of Fact
10. We Can Breakthrough
11. Believer

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player