XLR8R - logo

  • Filed under: News
  • 01/27/2012

Honest Jon's Compiles 'Shangaan Electro' Reworks on Forthcoming Comp

Back in 2010, the tireless London shop/label Honest Jon's revealed a collection of extremely fast-paced dance tunes from South Africa on a buzzed-about compilation entitled Shangaan Electro (artwork above). Following its release, the imprint then commissioned reworks of these exotic electro cuts from the likes of Actress, Anthony "Shake" Shakir, Demdike Stare, and more, issuing the results on a number of 12"s. Now, Honest Jon's has taken the next logical step, compiling all those reworks onto one LP, Shangaan Shake. Along with the aforementioned producers, the likes of Hype Williams, Theo Parrish, Peverelist, and juke dons DJ Rashad and DJ Spinn were tapped to find a pathway between their own styles and the blitzing sounds of Shangaan Electro. You'll find the artwork and tracklist for the collection—which will see a release on March 13—below, along with a stream of Anthony Shakir's contribution.

01 Mark Ernestus Meets BBC
02 Oni Ayhun Meets Shangaan Electro
03 MMM Meets Tshetsha Boys
04 DJ Rashad & DJ Spinn Meet Tshetsha Boys
05 Burnt Friedman Meets Zinja Hlungwani
06 Actress Meets Shangaan Electro
07 Old Apparatus Meets Shangaan Electro
08 Theo Parrish Meets Mancingelani
09 Demdike Stare Meets Shangaan Electro
10 Peverelist Meets Tshetsha Boys
11 Anthony Shake Shakir Meets BBC

12 RP Boo Meets Shangaan Electro
13 Actress Meets Shangaan Electro 2
14 Hype Williams Meets Shangaan Electro
15 Ricardo Villalobos & Max Loderbauer Meet Shangaan Electro
16 Mark Ernestus Meets BBC Version

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player