XLR8R - logo

  • Filed under: News
  • 03/05/2012

Laid Back Reworks Old Material for Upcoming Mini-Album

Danish duo Laid Back—responsible for the classic underground disco track "White Horse"—have announced plans to release a mini-album of reworked jams and lost recordings from the same session which produced the pair's early-'80s jam. The story goes that on the same day that brought about Laid Back's most fabled production, the two musicians were in the midst of experimenting with a few pieces of brand new equipment, which in 1981 happened to be a "Roland TR-808 rhythm box, a SH-101, a Pro-One monophonic synthesizer, and a GR-500 guitar controller-and-synth." Amongst the many eight-track tapes these sessions produced, only one song made the final cut, and it was—yes, you guessed it—"White Horse." Now, the remaining compositions have been resurrected from analog obscurity in order to be presented in a shiny new digital mini-album package that will be released under the name Cosyland. For the most part, the songs which make up the mini-album have only received a new mix treatment, but the duo does explain that there are a few instances where they added some "vocals, bass, and drumbeats ahead of a final mix." Cosyland isn't set to drop until May 22, but you can take a look at the artwork, tracklist, and listen to a stream of album cut "Get Laid Back," below.

1. Cosyland Video Edit
2. Get Laid Back

3. Cocaine Cool Extended
4. 101 Part 2
5. Cosyland

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player