XLR8R - logo

  • Filed under: News
  • 04/12/2012

Strut Announces Old-School UK House and Acid Comp

Veteran DJ and producer Richard Sen (of Padded Cell and Bronx Dogs fame) has compiled a two-disc collection of UK house and acid tunes from the genre's formative years. The compilation, called This Ain't Chicago: The Sound of Underground UK House & Acid 1987-1991, documents the era when UK producers began responding to the first wave of Chicago house music. Sen witnessed and participated in the growing rave and club culture that emerged at the time, and filled this compilation with that scene's underground classics, lesser-known tunes from influential producers, and some of his own personal favorites. The collection contains productions from luminaries like Baby Ford, A Guy Called Gerald, and Eddie Richards, and is due out on July 10 via !K7 sub-label Strut. You can check out This Ain't Chicago's artwork above, and its huge, 25-song tracklist below.

01. Bang The Party - Bang Bang You're Mine (Full Vocal Remix)
02. Window Smashers - Free To Be
03. Julian Jonah - Jealousy And Lies
04. Baby Ford - Crashing
05. Man With No Name - From Within The Mind Of My 909
06. Rio Rhythm Band - Cuba Jakkin'
07. Playtime Toons - Shaker Song
08. Jail Break - Mentality
09. Exocet - Safety Zone
10. Return Of The Living Acid - Twin Tub
11. Cxx - The Comfort Of Strangers (Mix By Rhythm Doctor)(Richard Sen Edit)
12. Julie Stapleton - Where's The Love Gone (Remix)
13. Rohan Delano - Inflight

01. Sly And Lovechild - The World According To Sly & Lovechild (Andrew Weatherall Soul Of Europe Mix)
02. Ability Ii - Pressure Dub
03. Static - Iron Orbit (J. Saul Kane Mix)
04. M. D. Emm - 1666 (Pyro-Maniac Mix)
05. Colm Iii - Take Me High (Mansion Mix)
06. S.L.F. - Show Me What You Got
07. Paul Rutherford - Get Real (Happy House Mix)
08. Bizzare Inc - Technological
09. Us - Born In The North
10. Annette - Dream 17

Digital Only
A Guy Called Gerald - Specific Hate
This Ain't Chicago - Ride The Rhythm

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player